Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

The number you have dialled...

Wednesday, Jul. 21, 2004 @ 11:32 p.m.

I've been spending the past two nights watching "Sex and the City" on DVD, starting right from season 1. Right now, I'm at episode 12, season 2... and I'm probably gonna have "Sex and the City" marathons every night until French Fitch gets back. It's a great, funny show, and it sure makes the evenings past faster, so I like it :)

I've been getting strange calls from weird people. Well, not exactly weird people, just people who have the wrong number. It appears that my number used to belong to some real estate agent... so I've been getting calls that go, "Hey, do you have any apartments available?"

In the beginning, I was patient and I'd usually say something nicely like "No, they changed numbers, and this is a residential number now."

Until I started getting this strange caller yesterday... the moment I picked up the phone, a woman went: "Why am I calling?"

No introduction, no hello, no nothing. What am I, some sort of phone psychic? So I got pissed off and said, "How the hell should I know??"

There was a pause.

"Yes, thank you." And she hung up. Bizarre.

And THEN this morning... at EIGHT in the friggin' morning... this guy called and woke me up. I answered quickly, thinking that it might have been French Fitch (my eyes were too heavily shut to check the caller-ID), but it was some guy that went, "Who is this?"

Now, you don't wake me up at EIGHT in the friggin' morning to ask me stupid questions with stupid phone calls. BIG MISTAKE. So I answered: "Who are YOU?"

"What number is this?"

"What number did you dial?"

"Uhh... there are 2 numbers on here, and you must be the first number."

"What, I'm supposed to be psychic and KNOW what numbers you're reading off?? If you're looking for some real estate agency, you've got the wrong number."

"So the number's right?"

"Yes, but they changed numbers, so it's wrong now."

"Do you know if the second number will work?"

"NO I DON'T. This is not a business number anymore. This is residential."

"Residential? So would you have any residential apartments available?"

Geez. "No, RESIDENTIAL as you're calling a private home."

"Oh... right... so I should try the other number?"

"Do whatever the hell you want, just don't call this number anymore!"

I hung up. Yes, it was rude, but it was EIGHT in the gawddamn morning. So I got back into the sheets, only to behold, 30 seconds later, ANOTHER phone ring. I was sure it was the same guy, so I picked up rudely, prepared to mouth off.

"Hello, who is this?" He went again.

"Look, I already told you, THIS IS THE WRONG NUMBER."

"Oh... I thought I called the first number before, so I dialled the second number, and realized that I'd actually dialled the second number before, so..."

"GOODBYE!" And I slammed the phone down before he finished his sentence, which might as well have been a 50,000-word dissertation. Go write a report or something, tell someone who's interested. Moron.

Well, now that I'm fully awake and typing this, I realize that it was pretty rude of me. Oops.

But still, it was EIGHT in the gawddamn morning.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009