Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Geek for a day

Saturday, May. 29, 2004 @ 11:46 a.m.

Saturday! And a long weekend, too! Happiness!!

We went to watch "Shrek 2" the previous night, and "The Day After Tomorrow" last night. "Shrek 2" was great fun, I love anything with pop culture references. I think most of the humor in that film was based on them, and quite a few scenes had me chortling. Which isn't very attractive, but hey, I ain't single anymore, so I guess I can afford to chortle. There were a lot of American (and specifically, Los Angeles) references, though, and people who are from other countries might not quite get many of their jokes.

"The Day After Tomorrow" was a film that French Fitch and I wanted to see ever since they started putting out ads... but it turned out to be quite different than what we expected. The special effects were spectacular, but other than that, the whole movie seemed to be one huge political statement. Which I liked! A multi-million jab at the Bush administration's policies about the environment, and basically Bush's (non-existent) personality. The vice-president seemed to be doing everything (he had way more lines and screen time than the president), and I especially loved the part when the president was told about the disasters, and he went to the vice president, "What should we do?". I thought it was a really brilliant twist on all typical disaster movies, wherein the president is usually the chief decision maker and the hero that saves the world (gimme a break). Another thing in other typical disaster movies that gets me rolling my eyes is the concept that America is always the big hero that saves the entire world, but "The Day After Tomorrow" focused primarily on how the US saved itself, without the holier-than-thou hero stunt.

Enough about the movies. I was occupied most of yesterday playing the "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King" game on the computer... and it was pretty impressive. The graphics were great, and you actually feel like you're in the movie. But I'm not gonna rave on about it, seeing that I'm already sounding like a total geek in this entry thus far.

Tonight is Louis' birthday dinner. He's turning 40, but he's still going out and partying every weekend like he was in his 20's. So I got him a card that says 'Aging Hipster" on it... thought it fit his description so perfectly. I hope he won't be offended... his mouth spews of sarcasm (in good humor) all the time, and he should be able to take what he dishes out. I hope. We'll see.

I've rambled on enough. It's time to return to Middle Earth. All hope of humanity lies in my hands, and I must destroy that one ring!

Talk about delusion and geekiness. How pathetic.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009