Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Saturday Night Fever

Sunday, Apr. 22, 2007 @ 11:41 p.m.

Louis currently works for a small but very successful company, and his boss had a birthday party last night, which he invited me along to. I was quite excited, because it's been quite a while since I've been invited to a party, and it was something different to do on a Saturday night.

It was themed "Studio 54", so I rented a 70's white jacket, white pants, white vest, and a black shirt with a really large collar... y'know, the whole John Travolta in "Saturday Night Fever" thing. I thought I looked really good - ha! I love dressing up in costumes and stuff occasionally, it's great fun. I thought since the whole white suit thing was somewhat of a 70's disco clich�, I would probably be lost in a sea of men with white suits... but it turned out I was the only one (yay me!). Lots of hologram and glittery shirts. They played disco music all night, which I love so much that I think I was born many years too late.

Anyway, Louis works with this guy who's the current boyfriend of Phil, Louis' ex from 12 years ago. It's quite a convoluted story, but here's the gist of it: Louis and Phil fell in love. It ended when Phil cheated on Louis. Louis fell deeeeeply in love, so he was absolutely devastated when it fell apart. He moved from Chicago to Florida partly because he needed to remove himself from the situation. Soon after, his job at that time relocated him to Los Angeles, where he has remained till today. Phil also moved to Los Angeles a few years ago for reasons unknown to me. Even after so long, Louis was still angry at Phil for what he did to him, but at the same time, it was clear that he was still in love with Phil. Louis kind of stalked Phil, trying to destroy his life, but instead, they reconnected, Louis went soft, and ended up allowing Phil to move in with him (Phil needed some time to find a place to live, and Louis needed help with rent because he'd been jobless for a long time due to his depression).

From there, anger and resentment actually turned into friendship, and Louis is pretty much (finally) over Phil today. And because Phil felt grateful to Louis for letting him stay with him and helping him out when he needed a hand, when he learned that his current boyfriend worked at a place that had an opening, he got him to get Louis the job. It happened, and that's how Louis is working with Phil's boyfriend today.

Isn't it funny how life works out? If Louis hadn't met Phil, if they hadn't broken up after what Phil did to Louis, and if Louis hadn't stalked Phil, he wouldn't be having that job today... which is a big deal, because Louis had been out of work for nearly 4 years due to his depression, and it wouldn't have been easy at all for someone in his situation to gain employment. And I wouldn't have been invited to that party last night. It's just really crazy if you think about it. Of course, it makes me wonder where things will be between me and French Fitch 12 years from now... assuming we'll still be in touch, of course. Guess I'll never know until it happens.

In any case, I had lots of fun at the party last night because of Louis of course (he's a riot), and also largely because of Phil. When Phil and his boyfriend arrived, his boyfriend basically became a social butterfly and left Phil alone all evening. So me, Louis, and Phil ended up talking, drinking, and dancing all evening. I must say... I totally see what Louis saw in Phil. He's quite a gorgeous hunk of man - tall, dark, very handsome, and has perfect teeth. He's great fun too, friendly, full of funny stories, and a brilliant conversationalist. It's hard not to be smitten by him. Did I mention that he's really really good looking? (Haha!)

Louis and I left the party just before midnight because we wanted to go to Motherlode for a bit, where we met up with our mutual friend Doug. However, Louis was so drunk by that time that he didn't remember much beyond entering that bar. It was packed last night - loads of hot guys. Too bad they were all "see, but no touch". *Sigh*...

This afternoon, I spoke to Louis (he was hungover as hell), and learned that Phil's boyfriend chatted briefly with him on the phone today. Apparently, the boyfriend and Phil had brunch with the boss today, and they were saying that everybody thought the life of the party last night was 'the guy in the white John Travolta suit on the dance floor'.

Hmmm... now, who could they have been referring to? Hahaha!! I don't think I've been referred to as 'the life of the party' since before I met French Fitch... and that was nearly 4 years ago, before I gave up the partying life for domestic bliss (well, while it lasted anyway).

But now I'm back... and I'm really glad to hear that I still got it! Yay, me!

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009