Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Cheap art

Monday, Jun. 28, 2004 @ 11:05 p.m.

I've been spending a lot of time on eBay looking for cheap art. Well, not cheap art per se, just nice art that appeals to me which isn't too expensive. I've got this idea in my head to decorate the walls of this loft with modern abstract paintings, but I just don't have the money to buy art from galleries. However, the really cool paintings from eBay are also very much in demand, and can get pretty expensive. So I'm not having too much luck there.

I wish I could paint. I've got these visions of paintings in my head, but I lack the ability to handle a paintbrush and an easel. I wish I could employ an artist, but I don't think I can hire one as I would hire a contractor. I don't think I can tell an artist exactly what I want him/her to do... that'd be an insult to his/her artistic integrity. But if I let him/her do what he/she wants, I might not like the outcome... which I'm very certainly obligated to buy after commissioning the work. So that's quite a gamble, so I guess that option is out. Besides, these eccentric artists can charge an arm an a leg too, so... nah.

So I guess there's nothing I can do for now, but to keep hunting for pieces on eBay and hope that nobody finds it as appealing as I do. It sucks that I don't know anyone who paints abstract stuff. I know this guy, but all he does is pretty much cartoony stuff. Plus, I don't really know him too well, so even if he did abstract art, I wouldn't have the cheek to ask him to do a 80" by 60" piece for me for free.

If only abstract art were as simple as a careless splat here and a haphazard swish there. That's pretty much how it looks like, but I know it's not that easy. I think. But then again, I've never really tried painting anything before, so... who knows, I might have some budding talent that I don't know about?

Yeah, right.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009