Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

New cat on the block

Saturday, Mar. 14, 2009 @ 5:04 p.m.

I got me another kitty this past Wednesday!

I love Smelly Cat to bits, but I've been thinking of getting a friend for her for the longest time. And this week, I finally took the plunge - rescued a two-month old kitten from the animal shelter. Cute as heck! I'm gonna give her the nickname Squeaky, 'cos her meow is more like a squeak than an actual meow.

After I paid the adoption fees from the shelter, they sent her to the vet to get spayed the next day, so I picked her up after her surgery. I put her in a carrier, placed her on my passenger seat, and began my drive home - about a 30 minute trip. Along the way, since I'd missed lunch, I drove through McDonald's to get a burger that I could eat while I drive.

Anyway, about five minutes into the trip, Squeaky pooped in the carrier. And boy, I don't know how such an adorable little ball of fluffy cuteness can ever produce something THAT rancid. Man, her poop was FOUL. And there I was, trying to devour my burger amidst that kitty stench... which was pretty disgusting. And I had about 25 more minutes before I arrived home!

So I just rolled down my windows to let the wind blow the fetor away as I drove, which allowed me to somewhat enjoy my burger. But every time I stopped at a light, wind would stop flowing into my car, and I would have to hold my breath to keep myself from throwing up my burger from the "aroma". But it was also a cold day, and whenever I drove, the wind was FREEZING. So it was either the rancid kitty poop smell, or freezing my butt off... and I chose freezing my butt off.

The ride was kinda bumpy, so Squeaky was rolling around a bit in her carrier... which meant that she ended up being covered in her own extremely pungent poop. It was cute, but so disgusting!

When I finally got back to my place, the first thing I did was give Squeaky a shower. It was the cutest sight when she got all wet and shrunk down to the size of a mouse. However, Smelly Cat didn't take Squeaky's arrival too well. Squeaky would try to get close to Smelly Cat, but Smelly Cat would hiss at her. I read online that this is normal since cats are instinctively territorial and all... so right now I'm keeping them in separate rooms as many websites suggest, so that they can get used to each other's smell. I really hope they'll eventually get along with each other... getting a kitten isn't exactly like buying a pair of jeans - you can't return it if it doesn't work out. And now that I've had a few days to grow attached to Squeaky, it would break my heart to have to give her up. I let them roam around each other about an hour ago, and for some reason, Squeaky kept wanting to play with Smelly Cat's tail. And whenever Squeaky tries to pounce on Smelly Cat's tail, Smelly Cat would hiss and raise her paws, ready to scratch Squeaky's eyes out. She's just a little baby, you mean ol' cat!

So yeah, I really hope they'll get along eventually. That way, whenever I'm not at home, they'll at least have each other for company.

I think I'm gonna go cuddle with Squeaky now. She fits inside the palm of my hand. How I wish they would just stay that size their entire lives!

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009