Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Bon app�tit

Friday, Sept. 02, 2005 @ 1:48 p.m.

I cooked yesterday!!!

Well... not exactly. I semi-cooked yesterday, because I only prepared an appetizer (from scratch!), and the preparation didn't really involve any fire/heat/stove action. It was a tuna tartare dish, see. The tuna's supposed to be raw. But still, I'm very proud of myself - it's the first time I've prepared anything besides boiled eggs and instant noodles!

It wasn't any special occasion... I just felt like spoiling French Fitch by surprising him with dinner at home a'la one of those expensive fancy schmancy restaurants. I've done that a few times before, but there was never any cooking/preparation done on my part. It was always getting something that was already cooked from a (fancy) supermarket and reheating it in the microwave. That, and a simple salad thrown together.

But yesterday, I decided to go all out, and bought a gorgeous new set of dishware, new placemats, and new table napkins. Then I went to get some sushi-grade ahi tuna for the tuna tartare. Chopped it up into neat little cubes, and seasoned it with olive oil, salt & pepper, a hint of garlic, lemon juice, chives, and scallions. It's one of French Fitch's favorite appetizers, so I thought it would be quite a pleasant surprise if I prepared it myself for the first time... and actually manage to pull it off. And that I did - woohoo!! (Considering there was no actual 'cooking' to be done, it would have said a lot about me if I actually managed to screw this up.) The look on French Fitch's face when I served the appetizer was priceless :)

Granted, the main course and sides were store-bought, but I made it my own (why do I always think of Paula Abdul when I say those words??) by garnishing it like they do in fancy restaurants. Got a bottle of sauvignon blanc (imported from France - Ooohhh!), lit the candles, put on some light jazz music... and look at me, I'm all domestic and stuff!! (But in a masculine way. There was no folding-the-napkin-into-a-swan. I may be gay, but I'm against the perpetuation of stereotypes.)

(... And besides, I didn't know how to.)


PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009