Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Intolerable ignorance and power... not a good mix. At all.

Saturday, Oct. 25, 2008 @ 1:14 p.m.

As of the past couple of months, nothing has made my blood boil more than sarah palin (that's right, all lower case letters). To me, it's totally unconceivable that she should even be in the public's consideration to run for vice-president... especially one who has a great chance of actually being president given mccain's (again, all lower case) age.

If you don't already know, I am currently pursuing my Ph.D., and doing scientific research is my passion. And as if sarah palin didn't piss me off enough, she launches yet another smidgeon of pure, unadulterated ignorance. She thinks that spending money on some kinds of research is ridiculous... namely, research on fruit flies. See for yourself:

If she'd paid more attention in school, she'd know that doing research on fruit flies is NOT pointless, not by a LONG shot. Researchers use animal models to develop treatments that can be used to treat human diseases. For instance, relatively recently, scientists created a strain of fruit flies that developed beta-amyloid plagues in their brains, a signature of Alzheimer's disease in humans... and they're even on the verge of developing a technique that eliminates those plagues without killing the flies, hinting at the possibility of an effective treatment for human Alzheimer's disease patients. In fact, most treatments for human diseases start with animal research. Many initial strategies fail, but they progress on until an effective treatment is reached. Would she rather we tested on humans instead??

You call that worthless research?!???! Oh, I suppose if it doesn't research a disease that strikes close to her (i.e., Down's syndrome or autism), it's worthless. It usually takes me a couple of hours to really wake up every morning, but upon seeing that video right after rolling out of bed this morning, I am WIDE awake. She makes me sick to my stomach. And people are actually considering her seriously to possibly run the oval office?!?!?!???

I loved how author David Sedaris worded his dismay on undecided voters so eloquently:

�I look at these people and can't quite believe that they exist. Are they professional actors? I wonder. Or are they simply laymen who want a lot of attention? To put them in perspective, I think of being on an airplane. The flight attendant comes down the aisle with her food cart and, eventually, parks it beside my seat.

"Can I interest you in the chicken?" she asks. "Or would you prefer the platter of shit with bits of broken glass in it? To be undecided in this election is to pause for a moment and then ask how the chicken is cooked."

Amen to that.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009