Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

SATC: The movie

Tuesday, Jun. 03, 2008 @ 9:18 p.m.

Sex and the City... the movie.

GO SEE IT.

Sersely.

I saw it with a few friends last night, and it didn't feel like it was two and a half hours at all. I guess what's different about this movie is that it spun off from the series, and instead of meeting characters for the first time and seeing their fates play out within 150 minutes as in other movies, we're catching up with characters we've known and loved for years. Assuming that you're a fan of the series, of course. You know what they've been through, and you want to see how their lives resolve at the end. It really felt like a night out with your friends... and by the end of the movie, even before I stood up from my seat, I missed Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte, and Miranda already.

There were some truly touching moments in the movie, and I found myself tearing up a little several times. I'm not gonna spoil it for people who haven't seen it, but I was particularly touched by Miranda's story line. *Sniff*.

And Carrie isn't as annoying as she was in the series. Which is great, 'cos she was my least favorite character. She was always so "Ooohhh, I'm whiney and complainey when I don't have a perfect man", and "Ooohhh, I'm whiney and complainey when I DO have a perfect man" (i.e., Aiden). Good thing there was none of that in the movie, and she was actually likable.

But I really, really, liked the movie. It was a perfect ending to the Sex and the City franchise (assuming no other sequels creep up to ruin everything). A gazillion times better than the series finale.

And it certainly left me craving for a drink. Definitely wish I could have been sipping on a cocktail during the movie!

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009