Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

The Ex-Marine

Saturday, Apr. 05, 2008 @ 9:14 p.m.

So my date on Thursday with The Ex-Marine turned out quite well. He called me after he got off work at around 2pm (like he said he would), and we made plans to have dinner at Bossa Nova, a really good Brazilian restaurant across the street from The Abbey.

We were supposed to meet at 7:30pm, but I ran a few minutes late (whoops). He didn't think it was a big deal (he was right on time - whoops again), thankfully. The conversation just flowed - we had quite a bit in common. We watch the same crap on TV, we both have cats (he has two), we like the same type of food, and we both had military experience. He seemed like a really nice guy... and of course, it helped that he was easy on the eyes. Beautiful eyes, and a great smile.

After dinner, we decided to get some cheap drinks at Trunks while waiting for karaoke to start at Motherlode. Along the way, we walked by one of those mobile STD-testing vans, and he decided to get tested. It was a bit of a weird thing to do on a first date, but I really didn't mind, so it was cool. He came out all happy that he was clean as a whistle. We went to Trunks for a couple of drinks, and before heading over to Motherlode, I enticed him to do a shot of Patr�n with me. He asked me if I was trying to take advantage of him, to which I replied, "No, of course not!.... Why, is it working?". He said "A bit, yes!", and we had a laugh.

Karaoke at Motherlode was fun as always. We saw my good friend Doug there, which was a bit of a downer only because he was also supposed to be on a date that night as well... and well, since he was alone at Motherlode, it clearly didn't work out. But he had a brief chat with The Ex-Marine, and had only positive things to say to me the next day.

I guess I'd succeeded in getting The Ex-Marine a bit buzzed, and convinced him to sign up to sing. One thing kinda weird though... when we were at Motherlode, Mess (formerly known as New Guy, the last guy I'd dated so very briefly) showed up with this other guy who was his ex before me (and who's still pathetically and tragically in love with Mess). I made the introductions, but of course, I didn't tell The Ex-Marine who Mess was. It's just not good first-date etiquette.

While waiting for his turn to sing, we drank more, and finally started making out a bit (something I'd been waiting for all evening - haha). I'm a huge fan of physical contact... y'know, hugging and hand-holding and all that huggy-kissy stuff, and it was just very, very nice.

1:30am came, and his turn was still not up, so we decided to just leave since it was getting late. We walked to his car, and he drove me over to where I was parked. I'll admit - I tried to coerce him into going home with me. But he said that he didn't want to jump the gun. He said that he had a great time (ditto on my part), that he was very attracted to me (likewise), and saw some potential (yup), and wanted to leave something behind for anticipation. That was probably the most admirable things I've heard in a while... either that, or he was blowing me off.

But I don't think it was the latter, because we spent the next hour making out in the back seat of his car (I know, it's like we're 18 all over again). He is SUCH a GREAT kisser. I couldn't stop. I just wanted to suck his face and cuddle all night long. Yeah, after a while, we started feeling each other up a bit, but that's as far as it went (darn it... heehee).

We finally managed to tear ourselves apart, and made our respective ways home. There was some text-flirting after that. It was the best evening I've had in quite a while.

He texted me "Good morning" the next day, and we talked briefly later on. We made plans to hang out again on Sunday after he got off work in the evening. Needless to say, I'm looking forward to it.

So we'll see how things go from here. I'm adopting a cautiously optimistic stance, because blind optimism alone has given me nothing but very crappy things in the past.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009