Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Summer's over

Monday, Oct. 01, 2007 @ 6:03 p.m.

So today was my first official day as a grad student. I don't feel any wiser than I was when I was an undergrad though... is that normal?

I have quite a shitty schedule, so it looks like I'm gonna be quite busy. I have to be on campus at 8:30am on two days of the week. Which sucks ass, 'cos I'm so not a morning person. But the good thing? That essentially stops me from going out to the bars the night before those days. And contrary to popular belief, I don't go out just to get drunk (If all I wanted was to get drunk, I could easily do that at home... but my liquor cabinet is always empty, save for a bottle of wine every now and then). The main reason why I go out as often as I do is simply because I'm bored. Most of the time, I don't like being alone at home in the evenings (unless there's some good TV going on). I like to get out, meet and talk to friends, and socialize. Makes me feel as though as I have a life. I don't want to be like the stereotypical grad student whose life revolves around school (and hot pockets), and that's it.

But anyway, I'm kinda excited and apprehensive at the same time, 'cos even though I've been going to school for so many years, today still felt like my first day in grade school. But I'll adjust soon enough, I'm pretty sure.

Yep, summer is officially over. It hasn't been all peaches and cream, but I think I had a pretty good summer overall. The main difference is that I think I've pretty much recovered from my breakup with French Fitch. We broke up in January... and it is now October. Holy cow, it's taken me almost a year to move on. But now that I'm here, I'm feeling pretty good.

So yeah, brand new school year. Time to get my brain revved up again on more practical and important things other than all that "Why won't he call?" crap.

Bring it on.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009