Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

A therapeutic weekend

Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2007 @ 12:20 a.m.

I saw The Therapist again this weekend. We've been texting back and forth throughout the week, and I finally asked him if he wanted to hang out on Saturday. He only wanted to hang out for a couple of hours, so we made plans to meet at The Red Rock at 7pm.

Backtracking just a little: The Therapist just got out of a 3-year relationship a couple of months ago, and it's quite a messy separation. They bought a condo together while they were a couple, and now they're going through the process of selling it. As such, The Therapist is quite beat up emotionally due to everything that's going on. They're still living together at the moment, but in separate rooms. When we were texting back and forth last week, I told him that I really enjoyed talking (and making out) with him, but I have no agenda beyond that. I understand perfectly where he is right now (and a relationship is probably the last thing in his mind), so I just want to get to know him as a friend more than anything else.

So we met up at 7pm. We drank, we chatted a lot, and we drank even more. Soon after, it became quite clear that we weren't just going to hang out for 'just a couple of hours'. We went to Trunks, we got more drinks... and then we went to Motherlode, where we got even more drinks. To be honest, I had a really great time. We have such good chemistry together, and it's so easy and great talking to him. And yes, we made out again. I can't help it - he's just such a gorgeous man and we have such a good connection. Anyway, we stayed out till the bars closed at 2am, and he asked me to spend the night with him. Of course, I wanted nothing more. So we went back to his gorgeous and wonderfully decorated condo, talked a bit more, and we slept together... literally. No sex. Just lots of naked cuddling and a bit of cupping here and there. I think I could have initiated things if I wanted to, but I really didn't want to make things weird(er) by adding the "we've had sex" complication into the mix. I really want this guy in my life, even if it's just as friends. You really don't come across such a great connection with a person everyday.

We got up the next morning at around 8:30am, and I had to leave before his ex woke up and saw me. Not that there was anything wrong with that, but it would have just been really awkward for everybody. I went home and went back to bed.

At around 10:30am, he texted me again. They had an open house that Sunday afternoon from 2-5pm, and he really didn't want to be there... so we went out to the Red Rock again. After a couple of hours of non-stop chatting, we walked to Trunks for another couple of drinks and chatted even more. We then went to get a couple of slices of pizza. We were planning to go to Motherlode since they had a beer bust going on, but he got tired and wanted to go home. So I drove him back to his place, hugged and kissed goodbye, and went home.

I went out again later that night to meet up with my friends (it was the last day of summer vacation, so I allowed myself to get a little crazy... bear in mind that I'd basically been drinking since 7pm the previous evening). Apparently, more people saw me out with The Therapist the night before than I thought, and lots of people asked me about him. Everyone thought that he was drop-dead gorgeous and asked me if we were dating. Of course, I said no.

So I've been thinking about him a lot today. I knew from the very start that dating him was out of the question... but I had such a blast with him this weekend that the boundary lines are now appearing a bit blurry. It's quite apparent that we like each other, and that we really enjoy each other's company. But it doesn't change the fact that he'd just gotten out of a relationship, and really isn't in any condition to jump into anything. And he honestly shouldn't.

I can't speak for him with 100% certainty, but it's pretty much a case of "I want to, but I can't" on my part. I really like him, but I so wish circumstances were different.

Where can things go from here? I'm guessing the best possible deal I can get out of it is a great friend if he's up for it. We've never had sex, so there's at least a degree of platonic-ness in there that's still intact.

And as for having made out and slept together naked... well, sometimes friends do that, don't they?

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009