Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

The date

Monday, Jun. 04, 2007 @ 5:10 p.m.

Something totally unexpected happened yesterday: Chris and I went on a dinner date.

After Chris cancelled on brunch, I was prepared for a largely uneventful Sunday. At around 6pm, to my pleasant surprise, he called me and we chatted for a bit. He'd been called off work at Eleven (the restaurant where he works) because of low patronage. When I found out that he had the evening off, I asked him if I he'd like to grab dinner. He said yes. We agreed to meet at Eleven itself because I'd never eaten there, and heard great things about the food. Plus, since Chris worked there, it meant a nice discount, so it all worked out.

We went to Trunks to get a couple of drinks before dinner. Wasn't a great idea, because I was hungry, and you know what happens when you consume alcohol on an empty stomach. After an hour or so, we headed to Eleven (right next door to Trunks). The food was superb. And because Chris works there, we got excellent service. After our meal, because the restaurant was quite dead, most of the staff ended up hanging out at our table. We drank and we laughed so much... it was just an evening of great fun.

We headed back to Trunks for another round of drinks and to say 'Hi' to the gang before leaving for home. Chris was being really sweet, thanking me for dinner with lots of hugging and kissing. I walked him to his car, and even though I was parked merely 20 feet away from him, he insisted on driving me to my car. Later, he called me to thank me for dinner again and to make sure that I got home safely. Needless to say, I was all giddy with delight.

He called me this afternoon to thank me for dinner again. I wish that he can be so affectionate all the time. Perhaps something changed over the weekend and he suddenly liked me a whole lot more? I dunno. But I'm still not gonna let my guard down and think that this is gonna be the start of something great. I know better. Of course, it'll be excellent if it turned out that way, but I'm totally prepared if it's not.

I'm just gonna be cool, and have fun. Big kudos to Cloudy once again for my new mantra!

So yeah, I had a wonderful Sunday evening. Chris looked sooooo yummy in the shirt he was wearing. *Sighhhh*... Hopefully there'll be more days like this in the near future. It makes me feel alive.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009