Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Banksy does Paris Hilton

Monday, Sept. 04, 2006 @ 2:00 p.m.

My favorite graffiti artist/guerilla artist/art terrorist (whichever label you prefer) from the UK, Banksy, has pulled yet another truly ingenious prank: He bought 500 copies of Paris Hilton's debut album (don't even get me started on that) from various record stores around London, doctored the cover and inserts, switched the CD to one that has been remixed, slapped the original price tags, barcode labels, and shrink-wrap back on, and put them back in the stores for unsuspecting shoppers to buy. The doctored cover features Paris with photoshopped boobs hanging out, and a sticker that reads "Paris Hilton Debut Album - Featuring: "Why Am I Famous?"; "What Have I Done?"; and "What Am I For?"... All excellent questions indeed!

Man, it's times like this that I wish I lived in London... I want a copy!! The various record stores have already discovered the doctored copies, and have removed all of them from the shelves. I wonder what they're gonna do with them. In the meantime, the copies that have already gotten out to customers and fans have skyrocketed in value... A few copies have already appeared on eBay, and are currently going for as much as over six hundred friggin' dollars!!!! Grrr!!!!!!

Best I could get is a "making of" clip from YouTube and pictures of the CD, thanks to sharl:


A close up of the cover showing the sticker:

The CD:

Behind the CD:

The inserts:





You gotta hand it to Banksy, this prank was pretty damn smart. I WANNA COPY, DAMMIT!!!!

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009