Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Long overdue rant

Sunday, May. 14, 2006 @ 11:24 a.m.

I have been so insanely busy, it's not even funny. My honor thesis is really making life hard for me. It's the last semester before graduation, and while everyone else has stopped caring for their grades and partying away, I'm slogging behind trying to finish my 25-page thesis. Grrrr. This had better be worth it, that's all I can say.

Lots have happened since I last updated nearly two weeks ago. Something that got me particularly pissed off was the immigration protests that happened on May 1st. Thousands of people, mostly Mexican, skipped work and school, and stormed the streets downtown demanding that they be legalized. They called the boycott "A Day Without Immigrants". Yes, I agree that a day without immigrants would spell disaster for this country. Yes, I agree that this country was built by immigrants. No one is argueing that. We don't have any problems whatsoever with the immigrants. It's just the ILLEGAL ones that we have a problem with.

While I agree whole-heartedly with Mexican President Vicente Fox that the illegal immigrants take the jobs that Americans don't want, how could they DEMAND legal status just because of that? Don't all countries have borders for a reason?

I can understand why illegal immigrants would want to come to the US to seek a better life both for themselves and their families. It's a very admirable thing indeed. But simply demanding it is just wrong. There are plenty of other ways to get legalized. You WORK for it. You don't DEMAND it. Working for it will get sympathetic people on your side. Demanding it just pisses everyone off. Imagine that you're living in a big house, and a stranger sneaks in. How would you feel if he says to you "I DEMAND that I be allowed to stay here permanently"? I would kick the son of a bitch right out. On the other hand, if he sneaked in and started helping you out, and earnestly asked if he could stay, the chances of you being sympathetic to him after getting to know him would be so much greater.

Just like a local radio talk show host mentioned: What are they gonna do if we don't grant them legal status? Leave?

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009