Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Senescence & the City

Monday, Jan. 23, 2006 @ 10:34 a.m.

Is there a name for the phobia of mailboxes? If there is, I think I've developed one.

My med school rejection count is fast approaching 50%. Statistically speaking, it means that I will soon have less chances of getting accepted somewhere than getting either heads or tails by tossing a coin. I've always known that it would be hard, but I've never known that it would be this hard.

Anyway, I've tried adopting a more positive approach to handling this whole nerve-wrecking situation. At this point, I'm expecting that I won't be getting in anywere at all this year. I'm gonna retake the MCAT again, and this time I'm gonna kick serious butt on it. I'm also gonna spend the next year doing things that are gonna seriously spice up my application. Maybe even attach a 1,000-dollar-bill to each of my applications. Heh.

On the homefront, French Fitch and I have a new thing. We'd watch a couple of episodes of The Golden Girls in bed before going to sleep each night. Man, there were some great writers on that show. It's more than a decade old, but yet the jokes are still fresh and punchy. It's like Sex & the City, except everyone's in their 70's. Or rather, Sex & the City probably garnered some inspiration from The Golden Girls. Think about it, even the characters are quite similar: Dorothy is the smart one, kinda like Carrie, but funnier and less whiney and annoying. Blanche is the slut, just like Samantha. Rose is the na�ve one, just like Charlotte... but less of an air head. And Sophia is sarcastic, judgmental, and doesn't mince words... just like Miranda.

One thing though, did people really dress like that in the 80's? Dorothy looks like she's wearing a different curtain each episode. French Fitch and I see comedic value in her wardrobe, but we're quite sure it wasn't intentional.

Still, it's a damn good show, and I can't wait till tonight. Good comedy in bed, right next to a hot hunk... what more could I ask for? ;-)

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009