Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Insane week

Sunday, Nov. 20, 2005 @ 12:43 p.m.

Man, it's been another crazy week. I was sleep-deprived from Monday through Thursday because I was working on essays for med school secondary applications. Gawd, every single school requires a different essay topic, and there's just not one that I could 'recycle' for use with another school.

I especially hate those questions that remind me of a Miss Universe question-and-answer segment. "Why do you want be a physician?"; "What satisfactions would you get from being a doctor?"; stuff like that. Except that you can't give a Miss Universe answer. Yep, that means you can't say "Because I want world peace".

Which makes those questions so gawd damn tough. You have to say "because I want to help people" without having to say those actual words. At least, I think so. I've read and heard from tons of sources that admissions people just cringe whenever somebody gives a Miss Universe "Because I want to help people" answer. Which strikes me as kinda strange, because... what could be a better reason for wanting to become a doctor than to help people?!? What do they want us to say, "Because the money is good"; I want to look like one of those people on 'E.R.'; "Because white is my color and it matches my complexion"; or "Because I wanna get with the hot nurses"??

Well in any case, I had essays for 4 schools to prepare by last Tuesday, a 6-page research paper that was also due on Tuesday, a 2-page homework that was due on Wednesday, and an experiment prospectus for biology that was due on Thursday. I slept for 3 hours Monday night, and I barely finished the essays, leaving the 6-page research paper untouched. I had no choice but to turn it in late and receive the penalty. One night of sleep deprivation just carries on to the next and the next... and I finally caught up with that when I woke up at 12:30pm today. Man, that felt sooo good.

Thanksgiving is this week! That's so great because I only have one day of school this week, and 4 days of blissful rest! Actually, I have Wednesday off as well, so it's 5 days of no school!!! Oh, joy!

I'm sooo glad the pilgrims came to America to engage the Native Americans in a hostile takeover!

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009