Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Countdown to D-Day

Friday, Aug. 19, 2005 @ 9:27 a.m.

Holy shit, the MCAT is tomorrow!!!

And DOUBLE holy shit - it's barely 9:30am and already I'M OUT OF BED!!!

I had to force myself to get up, 'cos I just have so much to do today. Took my last practice test yesterday, and I have to look through all my mistakes to make sure I don't repeat them tomorrow. My score wasn't great at all - but I'm not gonna let that affect me... not at this stage. I can't. I've heard so many stories of people stepping it up during the real exam that they do better than they've ever done on any practice tests, and I hope I'm one of them. They say it's the adrenalin. Let's hope my renal medulla has produced tons of adrenalin to secrete into my endocrine system tomorrow to keep the sympathetic division of my autonomic nervous system in high gear. (Can you tell I've been studying?)

Anyway, my heartfelt thanks to those of you who have sent me lovely "good luck" notes - you have no idea how much I appreciate the sentiment. I hope I'm able to reciprocate all your positive thoughts in an oscar-style thank-you speech when I get favorable results in October (they take 2 friggin' months to grade!!). GAWD, I hope I hope I hope. Please please please please please.

I gotta take a drive to my test center now, just to familiarize myself so that I won't run into any unnecessary delays tomorrow. I'm gonna get up at 6am tomorrow so that I can get there at least 30 minutes before time. 6am is insane, for a person who doesn't usually wake up (willingly) before 11... but I have a feeling that once my alarm goes off and the word "MCAT" echoes in my mind, I won't be feeling sleepy at all until the whole damn exam is over. It's like a potent cup of coffee without the excessive peeing. Which is caused by chemical inhibition of vasopressin by the caffeine, which in turn maximizes diuretic mechanisms. That last sentence you probably didn't care for, but I just needed to boost my self-confidence by convincing myself that I'm ready.

Alright, time to get my day moving. I'm guessing the next time I'm writing will be after the MCAT, so I'm hoping that it's gonna be a happy "it went great" entry. I hope I hope I hope. Oh, I SO HOPE.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009