Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Four A's good, two C's bad

Friday, Jun. 24, 2005 @ 12:05 p.m.

I just found out this morning that I got straight A's this semester. One of them was an A+!! I've never gotten an A+ before in my entire life! Go, me!!!

I got straight A's last semester too... technically (One of them was an A-). It's so not fair that A- counts as 3.7, while an A+ doesn't count as a 4.3. It's just 4.0 like a regular A, and the '+' sign just does nothing but sit there and look pretty (But veryyy prettyyyy). Still, my cumulative GPA is still nowhere near 4.0, not even a 3.8. Sob. All because of that darn A- last semester and another B from the semester before that.

You know what though? A student's GPA record is very true to the other things in life. Take, for instance, a person's past criminal record. Joe Schmoe could lead a virtuous life... he reads to the blind and helps old ladies cross streets. But if at age 12, he gets caught stealing a candy bar from a store, that record will stick for his ENTIRE life. Even if that mistake was done out of youthful folly. He's labelled a potential criminal for life. So if at age 40, he takes an Armani shirt out of the store after honestly forgetting to pay, THAT'S IT. He's a bona fide thief, and should be kept behind bars for 10 years. Because of that previous record, you see? And because unlike other human beings, he's not allowed to make any mistakes in life. He makes one mistake that he gets caught for, and HE'S A FREAK!!

Then there's a person's credit score. Mary Schmelly has led a very responsible life when it comes to finances. For the past 20 years, she has paid off every single credit card bill ahead of time. BUT... at age 39, she hits a rough spot. She pays a bill 60 days late (*shock*horror*faint*). Her credit score plummets from an impeccable 720 to a 500. And now, she's no longer credit worthy. Apparently, all that past 20 years of financial responsibility couldn't hold a candle against 60 days' worth of financial hardship. SHE'S A FREAK!!

That's how it works in life. The bad things you do are never truly forgiven and forgotten. The good things that you do are somehow so transparent and doesn't seem to hold any weight. If a child does something bad, a parent may punish him and then say "I forgive you". But if 5 years down the road, the child does something else that's bad, every single bad deed that he's ever done comes pouring out of his parents' mouths as ammunition against him. Even if he's spent those past 5 years saving stray puppies and kittens from abuse, or painting churches, or whatever it is goody-goody people do these days.

If I'm applying to medical school with my transcript, and they see two C's out of the entire sea of A's, guess where their attention would be drawn to? Yep. Those C's. I'll be viewed as a mindless dumb idiot, despite all the other A's. Despite my reasons of personal hardship that led me to those C's (which they won't even give me a chance to express, 'cos they'd drop my application right there). Despite my other non-academic achievements, which would appear on a secondary application that they wouldn't even give me a chance to submit (since they've already seen those... *gasp* two C's!!).

So yes, I'm very bitter about how everybody in this day and age are judged by numbers. Everything we do, we come up with a numerical representation. If we do good, it increases by 1 point. If we do bad, it decreases by 100 points. Good luck climbing back up. You could take on a positive attitude, and say "I don't care how I'm judged by other people. They don't know me, but I do. As long as I know that I'm a good person, they can go screw themselves". But sadly, the world doesn't work that way. There are so many instances where you do need the approval of other people if you want to have a good life.

Well, I just hope that I'll be able to get to where I want to get. After I get all the approval I need, then I'll tell those authority-hungry people to kiss my ass.

(Which, by the way, now has an 'A+' imprinted on it.)

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009