Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

What's wrong with Peter Rabbit?

Saturday, May. 07, 2005 @ 11:50 a.m.

Last Friday, I was sitting at a caf� waiting for my next class when a girl approached me for a survey about student government. I obliged, but I hardly knew anything about the student government. The first question was, "Are you aware of the presence of the student government at [Dream College]?", to which I answered yes. The next question was, "What is the name of the current student government president?". I had absolutely no idea (nor do I really care about student government), so I wrote "Peter Rabbit". Which was kinda funny, right? (I thought it was.) But I really didn't think much of it because it was just a survey, and I'd probably not hear about it ever again. There are so many people around campus asking for surveys all the time for class projects and what not, and I thought this was just another one of them.

That was, until I opened the pages of the campus paper on Tuesday.

There it was, the top headline in the "Viewpoint" section, in big bold letters: "PETER RABBIT FOR PRESIDENT". The girl who approached me for the survey turned out to be a writer for the campus paper interested in gauging awareness of the student government. The headline bordered on sarcasm, of course... and in the article, "... one student who responded to the survey" (i.e., ME) was ignorant enough to respond "Peter Rabbit" when asked about the name of the student government president. Ignorant?? Well, maybe. I sure as hell wasn't the only one... but I was probably the only one creative enough to write something in response instead of leaving it empty. There were only 20-something percent of respondents who actually were aware of all that student government crap. The only thing I see them do all the time is stage protests.

But still, it was kind of a cheap thrill for me to have made the headlines, albeit anonymously. I don't think I've ever done anything worthy of raising a headline before. I can now cross that off my list of things to do before I die.

Well, it's yet another Saturday... I dunno if it's just me, or if time really is passing faster and faster. This week last year was one of the most triumphant days of my life... I got a letter of acceptance from Dream College. I was jumping and screaming so hysterically and I almost passed out. French Fitch was so happy for me that he actually cried tears of joy (awww!). It's already been a year... and that's really hard to believe.

Speaking of French Fitch, he returned from visiting his family about 4 days ago. Yippee! And he just got a better job offer, which he's probably gonna start on this upcoming week. We're gonna go to a fancy-schmancy restaurant to celebrate tonight. But in the meantime, I have quite a lot of work to do, so I'd better get right on it... while the caffeine is still rushing through my veins and I'm actually in the mood to work for once. On a Saturday.

Very rare.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009