Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Wednesday afternoon ramble

Wednesday, Apr. 20, 2005 @ 1:54 p.m.

So the dinner party on Saturday went quite well. It was the first time that I've seen a few people in a while, and it was really cool catching up with them.

Louis is a must-have for any party, I swear. He just has this extremely sarcastic, sharp tongue that has the best come-backs and punchlines to any conversation. Unless you're the easily-offended type. Then you'd probably break down and cry. But the thing is, he insults everyone in his jokes, even himself. Especially himself, actually. Give him a few more drinks and you'd be rolling on the floor with stitches. Great times.

It was also cool catching up with 2 other friends that I haven't seen ever since I left that old college. Especially Richard. He's heard me ranting and raving about French Fitch for about 2 years (more than he'd like to hear, I'm sure) but never got to meet him until last Saturday.

Tarzan was the latest to arrive (he was over an hour late), and he showed up with a shiner on his right eye. I haven't seen him since he left for New York, and he hasn't changed at all. His story behind his black eye was that he was just 'hanging out' with a guy he'd just met at some pier in Santa Barbara, and some brutes just beat them up because they knew they were gay. I asked him what they did to reveal that they were gay, and he said 'nothing'. He said they were just hanging out and talking. Knowing Tarzan, I know that's far from the truth. And knowing how people usually are, nobody beats you up unless you give them a reason to. Well, usually, at least. Upon some more probing, he revealed that he'd forgotten to mention the fact that he was sharing a blanket with that guy. How the hell is that 'not doing anything to show that they were gay'??

I used to think Tarzan was smarter, but I certainly have my doubts now. He's one of those out-loud-and-proud guys, whom I find extremely foolish. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that all gay people should hide their sexual orientation all the time... but I'm saying you should really know when and when not to flaunt it. For the out-loud-and-proud guys, they think they have a right for their homo-colors to be flashing all the time. As is the case for Tarzan, I think. Being proud is one thing, but being smart is another entirely different thing that should take precedence over the former. Just like it's extremely stupid for you to drag a whole bag of money conspicuously while walking through a bad neighborhood, it's mind-numbingly dumb for you to declare your gayness in front of a largely-homophobic crowd.

And that's not the only thing that leads me to think that I'd overestimated Tarzan's intelligence. After spending almost a year in New York, one of the world's most expensive cities, he returned to LA a few months ago 'cos he couldn't take it anymore. He was forced to live with creepy 45-year-old men in exchange for low rent in Brooklyn (yikes), and he couldn't hold down a stable job. He kept being fired, and he just couldn't make the amount of money required for one to call New York 'home'. So he came back to LA, and you'd think that he'd learned his lesson, right?

Well, WRONG. After working a minimum-wage job over in Santa Barbara for not even 2 full months, he wants to move back to New York again. I asked him how much he'd saved so far, and he told me he had about $2,500. AND he wanted to live in Lower Manhattan with that. I mean... words just fail me. 'Stupid' doesn't even cut it anymore. This guy has absolutely no foresight whatsoever, and he seems completely clueless about the economics of the real world. He's always in his own little live-by-the-moment world, oblivious of where he's going to sleep tomorrow night and where his next meal is coming from. The idiotic "I'll-handle-it-when-I-get-there" mentality. It drives me NUTS.

Anyway, he called me last night and apparently, his parents (whom he's living with currently) can't take his flashing rainbow homo-lights anymore, and want him out by this weekend. See what I mean? STUPID STUPID STUPID. The one and only place in the world where he gets FREE RENT and FREE FOOD, and where he can work for some time to save up some money without having to worry about living expenses... he blows it because he can't turn his friggin' homo-lights out for even a while. My respect for him is diminishing with every conversation we have.

But enough about stupid people for a day. I have a 4-page paper to write. I'm trying not to procrastinate till it gets dark to get started on it. We'll see how that goes.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009