Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Rain sucks

Saturday, Jan. 08, 2005 @ 11:14 a.m.

Damn, Fable is so darn addictive! I've been spending so much time on the Xbox that French Fitch is starting to get annoyed. Oops.

Not like we could have done anything else outdoors anyway, it's been raining like Seattle. For a gawddamn third week in a row. Rain, rain, rain.

It never really bothered me before, because I was always indoors when it rained. But now that I started classes a couple of days ago, it's really starting to get on my nerves. Thursday wasn't so bad, because we had a little break, and I stayed dry. But yesterday... YESTERDAY... I brought an umbrella, but at the end of the day, everything was wet except for my head. And my classes were at buildings on absolute opposite ends of the big huge campus. I don't mean to sound whiney, but I'd like to see how anyone would feel if they had to sit through 4 hours of classes in soaking wet jeans and a sweater. And shoes. And socks. Eech.

And Los Angeles isn't exactly built for rain. Everytime funky weather like this comes around, a multitude of problems occur. Like roof leaks and flash floods. And half the newscast is all about "Oh, the rain is disastrous, so much damage, this is too much rain, blahblahblah....". And for the other 99.9% of the year where it doesn't rain, the news people whine about how dry it is and how bad of a drought we're having. That's LA for you... always extreme on the drama, never in the middle.

And another thing that really ticked me off last night was Dateline. The most part of the show was okay, heart-wrenching, even. They were showing the conditions in Southeast Asia in the aftermath of the catastrophic tsunamis. Which was cool, because we need more donations to the UNICEF to get aid to these people. One look at their lives now and you'll think to yourself, "Gee, even with all the trouble I have in my life right now, I don't have it so bad after all".

But the program later turned to "What if tsunamis hit the coasts of western United States? And what if tsunamis hit New York?". That was when I got pissed. Sure, turn the whole disaster to be about you. We had 150,000 people perish in that disaster, and here you are, making a show that basically says "Look at that destruction! It could happen to us! What would we do?". I find it so disgusting that news programs are always trying to turn disasters that happen elsewhere to a "what if it happened here" scenario. "Insensitive" doesn't even begin to describe it. Sure, it's a valid worry that tsunamis may hit the United States. But is this really the time to show that concern?

It's like your friend calling you in the middle of the night, crying that his father passed away. And you say to him, "Oh my gawd, my father has a heart condition too, and he might die as well!". Isn't that repulsively disgusting?

And the answer to why Bush took such a long time before releasing a statement about the disaster in Asia: He has never come across a word before where you have to pronounce a 't' and an 's' right next to each other. Tiss-So-Na-mi! Ttsss-oonami! Funny sound word, that!

Moron.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009