Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Saturday morning rant

Saturday, Oct. 30, 2004 @ 11:43 a.m.

Halloween weekend's here. I was feeling left out earlier this week because I didn't know of any parties any of my friends were throwing... but we just got an invitation to one tonight, and now we're stuck because we didn't prepare any costumes. And they're probably all sold out by now. Damn. Maybe I could just throw on a flannel shirt and make a papier m�ch� U-Haul truck and go as a lesbian. Hmm.

I just realized how close election day is. Given all the Al Qaeda threats that came up these past few days, French Fitch got so paranoid that he told me to stay home from school on Tuesday. See, I'd love to. All I need to play hookey is a simple excuse... and it doesn't even have to be a good one. But I've got this midterm that day. So if I skip it, I run the risk of getting a big fat zero in the event that nothing happens. On the other hand, if I go, I run the risk of walking right into a terrorist trap. Which is (hopefully) unlikely, but paranoia is irrational. It's the devil and the deep blue sea.

Speaking of the devil and the deep blue sea, I wouldn't be surprised if Bush won the election again. A majority of the U.S. states are full of conservatives, which is where he's getting all his votes from. Also, there's nothing to stop him from pulling the same dirty stunt that "won" him the election the last time.

Sadly, Kerry isn't that much better of a choice either. He may be a better speaker than Bush (as any child above the age of 10 usually is), but his credibility is just kinda shady. So I'm not completely sure if this country would be a better place if he wins. Let's not forget that all the damage has already been done in Iraq. A new leader isn't necessarily gonna wipe the slate clean, no matter how good he is. A time bomb has already been set in the form of negative sentiments by millions of people there and all over the world, and there's no turning back.

So there's basically no difference, in my opinion. Just like the catch-phrase of that movie "Alien vs. Predator" goes, "Whoever wins, we lose."

What a messed-up world we live in. It's one huge Halloween nightmare.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009