Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

The Real World

Sunday, Oct. 10, 2004 @ 1:14 p.m.

Well, Friday night was interesting. It was my first time in a straight club in... maybe 3 years. Actually clubs. We went to 3.

See, French Fitch has this friend who knows a lot of people in the Hollywood industry, and yesterday was the first time we hung out with him at one of those events. It started out with an alternative rock bar. That was interesting, to say the least. Later we went to this other lounge. Since we went with this old guy who was supposedly a big shot, we jumped the line and went right in. Which was real cool, 'cos that's the first time I've ever been to one of those exclusive straight clubs and skipped the line of the "common people". That place was small, but cool. There was this huge couch - the biggest in the place - that had "Reserved" written on them... and yep, that's where we sat. Pretty damn awesome to feel like a somebody when I'm a nobody :)

Next, we went to this other club. This one was real nice, and real exclusive. There was a huge crowd trying to get in, and we just waltzed right through. I never get tired of that feeling :) That was also where I saw... for the first time in my life... female go-go dancers. Hah! They were pretty gorgeous. Definitely not as chunky and bulky as the male go-go dancers that I'm used to, but it was quite an experience.

I also saw for the first time in my life, the true origin of the notion that people from LA and Hollywood are fake. There was this woman... an actress. In the beginning, when French Fitch's friend introduced us, she remained cold, and didn't even bat an eye, much less make a conversation with us. Then later, just for fun, French Fitch introduced ourselves to her as casting directors... and guess what happened. Suddenly, we were conversation-worthy humans, materializing before her very eyes.

That's what most people in these exclusive clubs are like. Their first question to you would be "So what do you do?", which translates to "So, what use are you to me?". It's disgusting. And I don't blame them for doing so, because in this town, you have to do it to get to the top. You have to be out there every night, talking to people you'd normally not talk to, and doing things - nasty things - with people you'd normally avoid like the plague. Like Hugh Hefner and his "girlfriends". Everyone can see right through to their intentions, but as long as the rich old man is oblivious, it'll work. It's disgusting.

It started out last night with me thinking I was hobnobbing with the elite, important people. But now, I see them as pond scum... very beautiful pond scum. I'm so glad that I'm not an actor, and I don't ever want to live like this. When I go out to bars, I want to go with friends that I know, friends that I care about... drink, talk, gossip, laugh, have a great time. Not a whole bunch of strangers whom I don't know but I should, for the sake of my career. I guess that's what they call in rap and hip-hop, "Keepin' it real". Which is ironic, 'cos the very stars who write that line in their songs couldn't be further away from what's "real".

Although, I gotta admit that being considered a VIP in this town has got its perks. All those people in line staring as we zipped right through... I would hate my guts if I was one of them :)

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009