Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

�D�jeme solo!

Friday, Aug. 06, 2004 @ 11:12 a.m.

I know I've bitched about this before, but it happened again today, and I'm getting very sick and tired of it happening everyday.

So it's early in the morning, and I'm - of course - still asleep. The phone rings. I pick it up with a really ill-tempered "HELLO!?".

"�Usted habla Espa�ol?"

I don't know much Spanish, but I knew that meant "Do you speak Spanish?". And I also know for a fact that "No" in Spanish is... well, simply "No".

So I say "No." I would have said "You've got the wrong number bitch, and you've no gawddamn business calling strangers and waking them up so early in the morning, so hang up now before I sic the INS on you", but like I've mentioned before, I don't know much Spanish.

But somehow, my "No" didn't phase her one bit, and she continued speaking in Spanish anyway. I have no idea what she was saying. So I interrupt her, saying very loudly and firmly "NO ESPA�OL".

There was a brief pause. I thought she'd got the picture. But I was wrong, because she went on and on again. Sigh.

So I shouted, "NO!! NO ESPA�OL, COMPRENDE?"

And what did she do? You guessed it - she kept going on. Overwhelmed by my miserable Spanish vocabulary, I figured, 'what's the point?' and just hung up and went back to sleep.

I didn't really manage to fall back asleep after that, so now I'm up and feeling extremely grumpy. This phone solicitation thing is getting to be a real pain in the ass. I would turn the phone ringer off when I go to bed at night, but I'm afraid that nobody could reach me if they needed to get me in an emergency or something.

Whatever happened to that National Do-Not-Call list thing, probably the one and only great thing that Bonehead Bush did for this country? I explicitly remember putting my number on there, thinking that telemarketers would stop bothering me. But I guess that didn't work out too well, so I'm gonna have to come up with some other way to deal with this unwanted-morning-call problem.

First things first. I gotta learn how to say "You got the wrong number" in Spanish. And while I'm at that, I'm gonna look up a few cuss words to add to my telemarketer-attack arsenal. You don't know who you're messing with, se�orita del idiota!!

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009