Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Home improvement

Saturday, Jul. 10, 2004 @ 11:10 a.m.

I haven't been updating the past couple of days because I've been busy. What would a person who's on summer vacation and therefore no academic business be busy with, you ask?

Well, this is the weekend of my anniversary with French Fitch. I can hardly believe it, but we met exactly a year ago at The Abbey (Details in this entry), and we've been together ever since. We haven't had any major fights of split-offs in an entire year. And, I've had so much fun and been so happy that it really doesn't feel like it's already been an entire year. So yeah, it's a special occasion. And to top it off, it's my very first anniversary, romantically speaking. Yay, me!

So yeah, we just moved to this beautiful apartment loft, and we've been decorating it like crazy, but so far, we've spent almost all our efforts in the living and dining areas. Not the bedroom and bathrooms (we use separate bathrooms). French Fitch has always yearned for a nice bathroom that's worthy of a Four Seasons hotel, but we both just had no idea on how to do it. (We're just not gay enough, I guess.) So I thought it would be a great annivesary present for him if I were to surprise him with a bathroom makeover ala "Extreme Makeover: Home Edition" on TLC. Or, "Not-so-queer Eye for the Queer Guy". Only that I hate the word "queer", so I'm just gonna go with the former.

Yep, so I spent almost over an entire week trying to come up with ideas on how to turn a regular drab-looking bathroom into one that's worthy of a five-diamond hotel megachain. And after tons of research and copy-catting, I think I got it. It cost me a bomb, but I thought seeing an overwhelmed boyfriend would be the ultimate pay-off.

So while French Fitch was at work yesterday, I put everything in. Brand new tumblers, soap dispensers, toothbrush holders, numerous fancy-schmancy candles, decorative sticks and reeds, top-notch imported towels with elaborate tassels and weaves, the whole ball of wax. I simply couldn't wait till he came home to behold the fruits of my labor.

And when he finally did, it was hysterical - he was going "OH MY GAWD!" and "WHOA!" and "WOWWW!" over and over again, exactly like those people on "Extreme Makeover" would! It was awesome, and I completely caught him off-guard. I'm really happy that I managed to give him a huge surprise like this, it gives me warm, fuzzy feelings all over :) Happy anniversary!!

Only problem is, now that his bathroom is all fancy and rich, the other bathroom that I use looks like a piece of crap.

Literally, since Smelly Cat's litter box is in there.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009