Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Caffeine-infused rant

Friday, Jul. 02, 2004 @ 11:25 a.m.

It's a long weekend! Well 4th of July lands on a Sunday this year, but most schools and offices extend the holiday to Monday. I'm not sure why I'm excited about a long weekend, since my 'weekend' hasn't stopped running since 2 weeks ago. Hmm.

What they say is true, that idle hands are the devil's workshop. Ever since my summer vacation started, I've been spending a lot of time (as well as money) on eBay. I can't resist it - we just moved into a beautiful loft, and I just have to buy new stuff to complement this new, modern living space! The old stuff just doesn't suit this place well anymore. Unfortunately, to achieve the "lofty feel" of a place implies the acquirement of very contemporary European designer furniture, which costs only... oh, I dunno, an arm and a leg. Seems to me that the simpler and more minimalistic the design goes, the more outrageous the price. I guess less is more.

I can't afford to go crazy buying $5,000 couches or $2,000 coffee tables, so all I've done so far is drool. And searching all over for those do-it-yourself websites. Our existing furniture isn't too bad design-wise, they're just the wrong color for this place. So we went out and bought a tin of paint, and I tested my virgin painting skills on a regular plank of wood yesterday, and concluded that I suck.

Now I wish I can hire a handy man to makeover the furniture for me. Or maybe some very nice neighbor would nominate us for that "Extreme Makeover: Home Edition" show on TV, and we get an entire renovated place for free. Only that it's never gonna happen, for the following reasons:

  1. The neighbors around us aren't very nice.

  2. We don't really know any neighbors around here. A consequence of item #1 above.

  3. Between French Fitch and I, we have no tragic disabilities or losses that would qualify us as "deserving" for "Extreme Makeover: Home Edition".

  4. This is an apartment building, not a house where we're free to knock down walls and drill gazillion holes everywhere. We do anything drastic, and it's gonna cost us our security deposit, and maybe even more. Ain't gonna happen.

  5. Ty Pennington creeps me out.

  6. Thanks to existing stereotypes, there's no excuse for the existence of gay guys who can't redecorate. So nobody would even take pity on us. Damn the Fab Five for perpetuating that stereotype.

So yes. I'm all alone in the quest of sprucing up this place. Ah, well. What'cha gonna do?

Anyway, back to my eBay rant. It's been a week and a day, and none of my stuff as arrived yet. I'm really anxious and impatient. I want my stuff and I want them NOW! Let's put the "Express" in "Express Mail" in action, shall we!? I paid extra for that! What's the big hold-up??

I should probably mention that the caffeine and sugar in the coffee that I'm guzzling down right now doesn't help my anxiety and impatience any bit at all.

IWANTMYSTUFFANDIWANTTHEMNOWGAWDDAMMIT!

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009