Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Soapy Cat

Tuesday, Jun. 01, 2004 @ 11:07 a.m.

I can't believe how quickly the long weekend just came and went. It felt so much like a regular weekend to me. Damn. Now I have just one more week of classes left, and then a whole week of finals after that. Woohoo. I guess it's crunch time.

We gave Smelly Cat a shower yesterday. Man, she really hates water. I guess I should have gotten into the habit of giving her regular baths ever since she was a kitten... now she's just terrified of the water, and her claws are just deadly when she goes into panic mode. To avoid getting scratched, French Fitch came up with a plan for us to turn the water on, set the right temperature, throw her into the tub and then close the sliding doors. Sounds cruel, but it's either that or we get our skin shredded off. She was screaming, and frantically trying to climb up the sliding door. It was the most pitiful sight I've ever seen of her... I felt so bad, but she really needed that bath. French Fitch poured the shampoo on her from the top of the sliding doors, while I tried to comfort her by calling out her name repeatedly... but I don't think that really does anything to a panic-stricken, hydrophobic cat.

But soon after, the job was done, and once I opened the door, she jumped right out into the towel that I'd positioned strategically. She was still soapy, but I just couldn't bear throwing her back into the shower again... so I just toweled her off. She looked so weird, but so cute with her fur all spiky and she just looked so skinny. We gave her lots of affection, and by nightfall, she'd already forgotten the fact that we "tortured" her, and was affectionate to us as her usual self. And she smells real good now. Awww, I loves me kitty :)

But anyway, I was reading this book yesterday on totally useless facts, but strangely found myself immensely fascinated by some of them. Here's a few random ones that I remember:

  • In Shakespearan times, mattresses were secured on bed frames by ropes. When one pulled the ropes, it made the mattresses tighter and firmer to sleep on. Thus the phrase, "Good night, sleep tight" was born.
  • If a statue in the park of a person on a horse has both front legs in the air, the person died in battle. If the horse has one front leg in the air the person died as a result of wounds received in battle. If the horse has all four legs on the ground, the person died of natural causes.
  • If you feed a seagull Alka-Seltzer, its stomach will explode.
  • The term "to testify" originated from men in the ancient Roman courts, vouching on a statement by swearing on their testicles.

  • It takes more calories to eat a piece of celery than the celery has to begin with.
  • If you put a tiny amount of alcohol on a scorpion, it will instantly go mad and sting itself to death.

Hmmm. I feel strangely smarter and dumber at the same time.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009