Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

And I did it my weigh

Monday, May. 10, 2004 @ 5:01 p.m.

Why is it that the services that you need are only available when you're not? Like the post office. Or the bank. They're open the exact same hours when everyone else is at work or at school. And the only people who can go to those places during those productive daytime hours are those who aren't. Free during the day = no job = nothing to mail = no funds in the bank = no use for such services. Hrmmph.

Well, I needed to mail out those "I decline your offer" letters to the colleges that I won't be attending (MUAHAHA, taste the bitter rejection that you dole out to the thousands of students every year!), and also important documents to Dream College. And I'm going to be on campus everyday pretty much from 8 a.m. (yikes) till 5 p.m., so I can't go to the post office unless I cut a class. And when I'm finally available during the weekend, the post office is, of course, closed as well because they've been sooo busy all week attending to the people who can't make it during their business hours. Ugh.

I could send the letters out by the good ol' fashioned stamp-and-mailbox method. Sure, I've got a few stamps lying around. But see, these envelopes don't contain just one piece of paper that's equivalent to 37 cents in postage. They contain lots of them. And since the postal system works according to weight, and my hands don't possess any superhuman weight-determining abilities (which I doubt anybody does, unless they're an X-Man with a really useless power), I can't be certain of how much postage to put on the letters. Do the post offices really expect people to have weighing machines in the house? I mean... my bathroom scale is incapable of weighing something as light as a letter. And unless I'm a drug dealer, I won't have the need to own one of those small weighing machines. So what's a regular, non-mutant, non-weighing-machine-owner to do? And incidentally, if people *do* own small weighing machines and are able to use the appropriate postage, what's actually in those packages that they're sending out? Hmmm.

(Annnd right now I'm being stupidly amused by the thought of an X-Man with the mutant ability to weigh things. "Watch out, Magneto! One of these days I'm going to... umm, weigh you to death!" Haha. Heh. Heheh. Hahahaha.)

AHEM.

Argh, so well, I'm gonna have to cut a class tomorrow to run to the post office. It's not my choice; I'm just a victim of society, for all the reasons I've expressed above. So yes, I'm forced to cut the class, which I really don't wish to. Aww, shucks.

Big, fat bummer.

*Snicker*

>;-)

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009