Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Follow the white rabbit

Tuesday, Mar. 23, 2004 @ 5:15 p.m.

I've always been aware of this online community who call themselves "furries" - people who believe that they're some rodent-like-creature (squirrel, raccoon, fox, etc.) trapped underneath a human body - but I've never expected to meet one in real life. And it wasn't at the asylum either.

I was hanging out with a few friends in-between classes today, and this guy came up and hung out with us. He was... umm... ah... well, there's really no nice way to say this, so I'm just gonna go right ahead with it. He was WEIRD. He had this long, furry, plushy, fox-tail-thing hanging out of his ass, and he was going around with his arms hanging out, kinda limp-wristed.

So being the trigger-happy sarcastic smart-ass that I am, I just had to blurt out "Hey dude, Halloween is in October", and quickly realized that I shouldn't have said anything because I didn't even know the guy in the first place. Whoops. He didn't exactly take it in good humor. He turned sharply towards me and said, "Your ignorance disgusts me."

Call me evil, but I couldn't help but start laughing! His back was hunched, there was a little skip-jump-motion to his walk, and his arms were still curled up... and at one point, he actually licked the back of his hand and brushed it against his face, like a hamster washes its face. Man, this was one real live freakazoid in front of my very eyes.

He seems very much mentally competent. I hear from other people that he actually gets pretty good grades. I just don't understand how that childhood delusion got stuck with him past the puberty checkpoint. There's nothing wrong with little kids fantasizing that they're unicorns or flying ponies or whatnot, but if you're still doing it at age 21... I'm sorry, but you're just very, very, sad. And there's like a whole community of them out there. How scary.

And I thought the process of evolution was supposed to occur the other way around. Darwin would roll in his grave.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009