Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

And the Oscar goes to...

2004-03-01 @ 12:37 a.m.

Just finished watching the Oscars on ABC. I've never watched award shows religiously, but ever since I met French Fitch, he's kinda gotten me into them (he works in the field).

People actually have parties for these events, especially in Los Angeles where there are more aspiring actors/actresses (read: waiters/waitresses) than there is traffic (and THAT'S a lot). It never ceases to amaze me how so many minimum-waged people can just sit in front of the TV for hours, rooting on for the stars that make more money than they could ever possibly dream of in their lifetimes. "Oh yay, she won the award. Now she can double her already-ridiculous-glamorous-actress-income while I continue mopping the floors and wiping vomit off these tables." (I know I'm guilty of watching these award shows myself, BUT I'm not a waiter! Nyah-nyah!!) But it's just a thought, not a criticism. Amazing how certain things work in this crazy world of ours.

Charlize Theron won Best Actress! She definitely deserved it... she was phenomenal in "Monster"! She looked so terribly unattractive in that movie, and it seemed as if it was another actress altogether. Definitely her big break away from the stereotypical "hot-blonde-bimbo-who-can't-act" actress. Way to go, Charlize!!

My major gripe goes to "Lost in Translation". Best Screenplay?!? Geez, are they kidding??? I HATED that movie, for 2 main reasons:

1) The two leads (including a certain "Best Actor nominee") did nothing but sulk through almost the entire movie. If I wanted to spend 2 hours seeing depressed, sulky faces, I'd make a trip to the nearest kindergarten. And they would be cuter depressed, sulky faces to look at. And they wouldn't cost nine friggin' bucks.

2) "Lost in Translation" is categorized as a comedy. As far as I could see, most of the "comedy" came from Japanese people speaking long sentences and making funny, goofy faces and gestures. And their accents. I'm not Japanese, but I think that's just low. "Oh hey, we ran out of funny lines to incorporate in the script, so let's just laugh at how funny the Japanese people speak and act!" That's just so wrong.

True story: When the Europeans "discovered" America, they came across the Native Indians who'd already lived here for ages, but the pompous pricks thought so highly of themselves that they thought the Native Indians weren't even humans. They found these huge mounds of dirt on the ground, and they wondered for decades how these piles of dirt came to exist. They thought the Native Indians were too stupid to even make a pile of dirt. This, coming from that self-proclaimed "most sophisticated and most intelligent" civilization that ever existed.

I guess some things never change!

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009