Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Party Time (with a bit of psycho on the side)

Monday, Apr. 13, 2009 @ 6:19 p.m.

So I had a little birthday shin-dig this past Saturday at Marix, a tex-mex restaurant in West Hollywood that serves the most kick-ass margaritas. It was great fun - we got there at 5pm and just started drinking from that point on till 2am. And the most amazing thing? I remember every single thing! It's official - I am now one with alcohol. But the good thing is, if I get myself a cut, I'll automatically start disinfecting myself.

Anyway, on the guest list was Shaggy and Veronica from a few entries back... remember them when I was ranting about Psychotic Pete? (That's what I'm gonna call him from now on - I love the alliteration!) Due to everything that's happened, Psychotic Pete was, of course, not invited. I told invited everyone else, and told them not to mention anything to him.

===FLASHBACK (Don't mind me, I've been watching "Lost" :-P)===

I no longer consider Psychotic Pete a friend, but I still have to deal with him because he's out every single damn night, and whenever I go out, there's a great chance that I'd run into him. So I try to at least be civil, so as not to create a scene and make things uncomfortable for anyone who may be with me. I would say Hi and Bye, and that's just about it. Anyway, apparently Psychotic Pete took that as us starting to move back into friendship zone again. Starting about a month ago, he tried to text me little things, such as asking me if I was going out or not. Most of the time, I just ignore him. And in the rare instances that I reply, they're usually very short one-word responses.

Last Wednesday, Ex-Marine, Shaggy, one of Ex-Marine's good girl friends, and myself were at Fiesta Cantina, doing our weekly karaoke night outing. Psychotic Pete came along. I had to play nice, so I said Hi, and he said hi to everyone in the group except for Shaggy. After that, he just stood there next to me, and the awkward tension was incredibly apparent. I could feel Psychotic Pete giving Shaggy the death stare every now and then (remember that Shaggy had done ABSOLUTELY nothing against Psychotic Pete, but Psychotic Pete blames Shaggy for taking over his friends - i.e., us - when it was his own actions that pushed us away). So yeah... it was uncomfortable as heck. After a while, Psychotic Pete got drunk (duh), and gestured for Shaggy to go talk to him. He told him "I hope you're having fun with my friends. And don't talk to me ever again", and left in his usual soap opera-bitch huff. Which was a relief, because now we could start having fun again. At that point, I was still debating whether or not to let Psychotic Pete know that I was having a birthday thing out of respect (I know, what was I thinking?), but after what he told Shaggy, it was a no-brainer. What, I'd invite Psychotic Pete to the same party with Shaggy and Veronica (whom he'd pissed off on her birthday), and infuse the air with that horrendously uncomfortable tension? Hell, no! So I didn't mention anything to him at all.

The day before my party, Psychotic Pete chatted me up online, asking why I was still cold towards him. I layed everything out - that I was sick of the obnoxious bitch he turns into when he drinks, and I no longer want to hang out with a ticking time bomb. He also told me that he didn't like that his ex-boyfriend (Shaggy) was now hanging out with me, since he'd known me for about two years more than Shaggy. I told him that it was simple - Shaggy doesn't turn into Mr. Hyde when he drinks, and Shaggy didn't make a move on my boyfriend. He promised that he would get his drinking under control, and that he would shake off that alter-ego, blahblahblah, but I just said "you're just gonna have to show me instead of just saying it". He said "okay, I will show you". And we left it at that.

===END OF FLASHBACK===

So... Saturday came, and I was very excited. My friends started arriving, and I was have a wonderful time talking to them, many of whom I've never talked to in a long time. This included Louis, my oldest and dearest friend in West Hollywood whom I hardly see anymore because of his battle with depression. At around 6pm, word about my party unfortunately leaked out, and I got a flurry of angry texts from Psychotic Pete. "I thought I meant a bit more to you than that", he wrote. "You couldn't have mentioned it during that HOUR we were talking yesterday?"

Did he actually expect an invite?? Inviting him to my party would've been like planning a birthday party to specifically coincide with a day with a hurricane! Anyway, I just ignored his texts, and went on with my party.

Alas, something HAD to give, and we ended up running into him at a bar later that night around 1:30am. I ignored him, but as I was walking past him, he elbowed me and said to me:

"I wish you were dead".

Wow... I mean... WOW. I have no words.

Even worse, at one point, he actually had the nerve to shove Louis out of his way. Now, Louis and him have NEVER met, so Louis was a completely innocent party. He was now taking his irrational rage out on anyone and everyone who was simply associated with me! I wish I'd thought of this sooner, but I should have taken advantage of this situation and called the bouncer to throw Psychotic Pete out and have him banned from the bar forever. Dammit.

2 a.m. came, and it was now time to go. Despite that little debacle at the end, I had a really fun birthday celebration, so all in all, it was all good.

I can't possibly let this one asshole overshadow all my other wonderful drama-free friends, can I? I'm so glad they were at my party. I feel so loved :-)

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009