Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Starstruck... well, not really.

Thursday, Feb. 26, 2009 @ 4:04 p.m.

I work as a teaching assistant while I'm in graduate school, and I'm required to hold office hours for undergraduates with questions. But the thing is, they never show up, and I end up sitting in this closet of an "office", surfing the web. I'm bored to tears, so I thought I might as well ramble pointlessly a bit on here...

I've lived in LA for a bit over 8 years now, and I've never really met too many celebrities, big or small. Sure, I've spotted a few celebrities here and there over the years, but I've never been friendly with anyone. It's not a big deal at all, but when I tell people that I live in LA (and barely 2 miles from the heart of Hollywood), their first question is usually "Have you met any stars? Do you have any friends in high places?". And since I'm not in LA to be an actor or pursue a career in the entertainment industry, it shouldn't be a huge surprise that I don't really have "friends in high places".

Until recently, the most famous celebrity (I use that term loosely) was Lauren Stamile, who had a pretty long stint on Grey's Anatomy as nurse Rose, who played Dr. McDreamy's new love interest for a while. I never was friends with her, but she was roommates with Mess, whom I dated for all of five weeks in 2007.

But lately, I met this girl whom I shall call Cossette through Ex-Marine (they're co-workers), and she has been hanging out with us in West Hollywood about twice a week - we have our weekly Wednesday karaoke nights at Fiesta Cantina, and we go dancing at The Factory on Fridays. Cossette moved to LA to pursue acting, and one of her closest friends just happens to be a regular on The Young and The Restless. She's absolutely gorgeous, and to my surprise, SO NICE. She was nominated for a Daytime Emmy just last year, and you would think that such a person would be at least a little snobby... but not in the least. I know it's pathetic, but I got such a cheap thrill out of being friends with her on Facebook (I'm very sad, I know!)! Sure, she's not a HUGE star that people will recognize her everywhere she goes, but she's no can of castor oil either, being a series regular on a major daytime soap and all.

These past couple of weeks, she's been tagging along with us as we've been partying in West Hollywood, so that's been fun. Last weekend, when we were ordering drinks at The Motherlode, the bartender (whom apparently was a fan of the soaps) recognized her, and we all got free drinks, so WOOT! She's been having a lot of fun hanging out in gay land, and will be going dancing with us again tomorrow night (Friday). So I'm gonna be sure that before we go to The Factory, we'll swing by The Motherlode, to that soap opera-loving bartender, to get us a free round of cocktails!

Oh, and when were were at Fiesta Cantina last night for karaoke, Dustin Lance Black (who won an Oscar for writing "Milk" just this past Sunday) was there. I touched him. I can now cross "touch an Oscar winner" off my list of things to do before I die.

Lame entry, I know. But at least I'm updating!!


PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009