Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

West Hollywood 90069

Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2009 @ 12:47 a.m.

Need some soap opera-esque drama to distract you from your mundane/stressful life for a few moments? 'Cos here comes some very entertaining drama that I'm gonna call "West Hollywood 90069"! (It's rather long, so grab a cuppa coffee and enjoy! And yes, West Hollywood's ZIP code really is 90069... how befitting, huh!)

So, here's more about Pete, with whom I have recently put some real distance between us, as described in my previous entry.

Pete is a total ego maniac. Like, seriously narcissistic. He goes out to the bars pretty much every night of the week, but he doesn't really go there to hang out with friends (ala "Cheers"). He goes there to attract "fans". I guess he's a good looking guy (I can't really see him as being good looking anymore ever since I saw how ugly he is inside), and the (clueless) boys just gravitate towards him almost every single night. They worship him, and he soaks it all up. He actually asks people "Do you think I'm hot?". Yeah, seriously. And when he gets drunk (which takes all of one drink 'cos he's a total lightweight), he gets even worse - he totally thinks he's the queen bee and everybody should bow down to worship him. If you say one wrong thing, he will totally flip out.

I have no idea why I considered him a close friend of mine for about two years. I guess it's mostly because he's not like this if you hang out with him during the day, away from alcohol. He can actually be very sweet and nice and fun to hang out with... as long as he's sober.

But anyway, about a year ago, he met this guy whom I shall call Shaggy ('cos he's got the same fuzzy/semi-beardy thingy going on on his chin as Shaggy from Scooby-Doo). Honestly one of the most down-to-earth, nicest guys I've ever met. Shaggy fell head over heels in love with Pete. I guess Pete was also crazy about him at that time, 'cos he was also gushing about Shaggy. For Pete's birthday (the horrendous experience which I documented here), Shaggy got him a nice platinum man-bracelet from Tiffany's. And that's saying a LOT, 'cos Shaggy works as a waiter and isn't rich by any means. Anyway, just about a couple of months into their relationship, Pete got bored with Shaggy. But he didn't break up with Shaggy, 'cos he enjoys having someone constantly worshipping him and making him feel like he's the king of the world, which Shaggy did. Pete would come out to the bars every night (Shaggy would wait for Pete at Pete's apartment, 'cos he doesn't have much money to go out every night like Pete does), attract his "fans", and even make out with them.

Now, there are many definitions of what is considered "cheating", but to me and everything that I've experienced via my cheating ex, I consider kissing someone else bona fide cheating. I wanted to tell Shaggy SO BADLY, but I knew it wasn't my place. I talked to Pete many many times, and told him that he's just not ready to be in a relationship right now, because he's just not ready to stop being a whore. I convinced Pete to break up with Shaggy and let him go. And when he's single, he can be as big of a whore as he wants, and won't be hurting anybody. After about a month, Pete finally broke up with Shaggy. Shaggy was still very much in love with Pete, so it was very difficult for him... but I didn't feel bad for essentially having instigated their breakup, because I knew for a fact that Shaggy was much better off without Pete (if he knew even a little of what I knew about Pete).

Rather recently, Shaggy's living situation fell into shambles - his roommate left, and he couldn't afford an apartment on his own. So he moved in with Pete, whom despite this kind gesture, never stopped bitching about how much he hated Shaggy living on his couch to us (behind Shaggy's back of course) every opportunity he got.

Okay, so that's Shaggy. Let me now quickly introduce Veronica, who is one of my closest friends, who also hangs out at the bars with us occasionally in West Hollywood. A beautiful, sweet young lady with a heart of gold. Veronica met Pete through me over a year ago, and they're friends. Veronica also met Shaggy, so they're also friends. So along with the Ex-Marine, we would usually hang out together on the weekends.... until Pete broke up with Shaggy, that is. Shaggy went into recluse ever since, but we do see him out with his friends once in a blue moon.

Fast forward to the incident that I'd written in my last entry - Pete made a move on my boyfriend, I called him out on it, and we had a much-needed falling out. This happened just a week before Veronica's birthday, and she had planned a birthday dinner at Sur. Pete was on the guest list. When Ex-Marine told me that Pete made a move on him, I really wanted to hold off from confronting Pete until after Veronica's birthday dinner, because I really didn't want to make Veronica's birthday all about me ('cos I'm no narcissist). But I guess the whole situation just pissed me off so much that in a moment of weakness, I ended up confiding in Veronica about what had happened. I made it clear to her that what happened was between Pete and myself and ONLY between Pete and myself, and she had no reason to behave any differently with Pete (personally between them, at least). She agreed, and I assured her I wouldn't deal with Pete until after her birthday. But she later insisted that I deal with Pete right away, and was ready to drop him from the guest list, because she had become very disgusted with what he did anyway, and didn't give a damn if he wasn't there for her birthday. Long story short, I tried to hold off from confronting Pete by avoiding him, but he sensed that I was trying to avoid him, and he ended up actually confronting me regarding why I was avoiding him. So yeah... everything came out. He basically denied any wrongdoing because he "was drunk" (as described in my previous entry).

Veronica didn't uninvite Pete, but Pete told her that it's best that he not go because I was going to be there. Veronica didn't really give a damn, because she was on my side. But also on the guest list was Shaggy, whom we had all met through Pete, but have become friends with over time. Veronica had gotten rather close with Shaggy, and there was no way he wasn't going to be there for her birthday.






So Veronica's birthday came. All of us had a great time during dinner, minus Pete of course. After dinner, Veronica wanted to go to Trunks, our favorite watering hole. I was a tad apprehensive, because I knew Pete was going to be there. But whatever the birthday girl wants, the birthday girl gets... so off we went.

At first, Pete wasn't there, so we got a table, got our drinks, sat, and chatted. Shortly after, Pete showed up. He put his bitch face on, and ignored all of us. Whatever, I'd expected her royal highness to behave like that anyway. But Ex-Marine became VERY uncomfortable, because he knew that Pete now knows that Ex-Marine told me what happened, which caused this rift in the first place. Ex-Marine is the sweetest guy ever, and wanted to at least say Hi to Pete (and at least be civil - we're not in high school anymore), but Pete totally snubbed him... and seeing my Ex-Marine acting so uncomfortably also made me extremely uncomfortable. Even worse, Pete kept giving Shaggy the most murderous death stare all night... even though Shaggy had done absolutely nothing against him. At one point, Pete came to our table and said a brief "Happy Birthday" to Veronica, and then withdrew. Veronica didn't think much of it, and we went back to our now-uncomfortable cocktail hour.

A couple of hours went by, and it was close to bar time. Pete left first... but as he walked out towards the exit, he appeared to approach Veronica, as if to say goodbye and give his last birthday wishes. But instead, he said VERY sarcastically to her, "I hope you had a great birthday", with that bitchy face that he does even better than a soap opera diva... in front of all of Veronica's friends (recall that Veronica had done ABSOLUTELY NOTHING against Pete). She was visibly offended and embarrassed. A minute later, she said she was tired, said goodbye to all of us, and left.

Great, I had played no small role in ruining Veronica's birthday. Absolutely wonderful.

The next day, I sent Veronica a heartfelt apologetic note. To my relief however, she said that she didn't think that I'd ruined her birthday... but Pete did. What Pete said to her was absolutely over the line, and Veronica said that she was never going to speak to Pete ever again.

I called Shaggy to see how he was doing (since he's actually living with the madman), and was SHOCKED at what he told me had transpired the previous night.

Apparently, Shaggy got home before Pete, and went to bed on the couch. When Pete got home, absolutely shit-faced, he walked up to a snoozing Shaggy, forcefully pushed his hands against Shaggy's face, and said to him, "In a perfect world, you'll be dead by now."

WHOA.

Needless to say, Shaggy was totally creeped out. Pete went back into his room, but after every couple of minutes, he would go out to the couch where Shaggy is sleeping again, and say things like "Are you comfortable? I hope you are. You better be comfortable", as if it would be followed by "'cos I want you to be comfortable on the last night of your life".

Shaggy hardly slept that night, and planned to leave Pete's apartment for good as soon as the sun came up. The next morning, as Shaggy was packing to leave, Pete (who I guess had now sobered up) tried to get Shaggy to stay, once again blaming everything he did on "I was drunk last night"... as if it was an unconditional "get out of jail" card. Pete told Shaggy that he felt betrayed, because he took his place with us. We were his friends first, and seeing Shaggy the previous night sitting where he usually is just put him into a rage. Shaggy knew about what had happened between me and Pete, so he told him that what happened was Pete's own fault and only Pete's own fault; Shaggy had done NOTHING to deserve the death threat that he gave him the night before.

Anyway, Shaggy eventually found a friend that he can crash with, left Pete's place, never ever looking back again.

So yeah... this entry could also very aptly be called "Diary about a Madman". Pete is an alcoholic to the T. His drinking turns him into an absolute monster, and I will no longer tolerate his behavior. Before everything happened, whenever he turned into Mr. Hyde after a drink, I would tolerate him. If he says something bitchy to random people, I would be there apologizing on his behalf, trying to keep the peace.

But no more. I am babysitting no more. I go out to hang out with my friends over drinks and have a good time, not to experience drama. I go out to get rid of stress, not create more. I do not need such a character in this soap opera.

So long, Pete. Have a nice life. I hope one day you'll finally realize, for your own good, that the pedestal that you've placed yourself upon is supported only by your own delusions and nothing else.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009