Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Bittersweet jubilations

Wednesday, Nov. 05, 2008 @ 2:08 a.m.

I am extremely glad to be alive on this day, when history is being made. The 44th president of the United States of America, an African American. Finally... we will be able to repair broken friendships with so many nations (for one, the ENTIRE CONTINENT OF EUROPE). I am so ecstatic that Americans have voted with their brains and not their faiths.

In California however, Prop 8, which will amend the constitution to eliminate marriage rights to gay and lesbian couples, passed. Needless to say, this is personally very devastating to me. I cannot believe how in this day and age, there are still people who believe that they are more deserving to be treated as human beings than me. Who believe that just because I am gay, I am sub-human, and therefore deserve lesser rights. When these people still believe that being gay is a choice, when it is not more of a choice than being born with blue eyes or brown hair.

If I am allowed to marry the man I love, I will NOT force a straight couple to witness my wedding. And I will NOT handcuff their children to a chair to watch as we get wedded. Today, 22,000 Californians who have been legally married since May have lost 1,138 rights that came with being married. But the thing is, even if Prop 8 failed to pass, straight people would have lost ZERO rights. It would have cost them NOTHING. But yet... they chose to eliminate the fundamentally human rights to thousands of people, just because they didn't agree with their lifestyles (which did NOT affect them in ANY conceivable way)... that they didn't believe a subset of the population were, too, entitled to "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness".

Choosing "Yes" or "No" on Prop 8 would have cost them ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. But choosing "Yes" would have stripped tens of thousands of FELLOW HUMAN BEINGS of 1,138 rights that they are entitled to, and even to the extent of taking for granted.

I am extremely devastated that this could happen. It really sickens me to think that people can actually think that they are more human than other fellow humans just because they don't agree with them.

Still... in the big picture, a better candidate (IMO) won the presidency. So I guess it's not a total loss.

Despite my personal dismay over Prop 8, I am absolutely overjoyed that Barack Obama will henceforth be called "Mr. President".

Perhaps once the bigger picture is fixed, the smaller pictures will have a chance to be rectified.

Yes, we can.

Congratulations, President Obama.

I am truly honored to be alive during your presidential term.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009