Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

It's a gay world after all

Sunday, Oct. 12, 2008 @ 1:10 p.m.

This is the first weekend in a LONG time that I've had absolutely nothing to do. And I LOVE IT!

I've been really busy between school and lab work and teaching. This is the first time I'm teaching (as a teaching assistant), so I was very nervous. My greatest fear is that some smart ass who's out to prove himself as a Mr. Know-It-All would bombard me with questions that I can't answer. But so far, nothing like that has happened, so I guess I was just hyperboling out of fear.

In fact, I'm surprised at how much I know about neuroscience. I mean... I have been studying neuroscience for many years now, but you don't really get a chance to stop and think about how much you know compared to when you were starting out as a freshman. And teaching has made me realize that my past 6 years spent in college hasn't been a waste... and it's a pretty good feeling. It's like I'm... like, smart or something!

Anyway, so that's what I've been busy with. Which explains the lack of updating. It was hard to juggle classes, lab work, and teaching, but I think I've gotten the hang of it now. I just needed some time to get used to the swing of things.

Last week, The Ex-Marine and I went to Disneyland for the annual Gay Days. It's an unofficial event where gays and lesbians don red shirts and just invade Disneyland and California Adventure. Happens one weekend every year... and at the end of each day, there would be huge dance parties in Downtown Disney. It was my first time there, and man, was I surprised to see the turn out. There were SO many people in red shirts all throughout the park. What was even more hilarious was the reactions of tourists (who of course had no idea what was going on)!

We were standing in line for one of the rides when this gay couple (a couple of HOT guys) about 20 people ahead of us gave each other a peck on the lips. Nothing raunchy or sleazy, just a quick one. But standing right next to me was this little boy - who couldn't have been older than 10 years old - who up until that point was yakking away to his parents about how excited he was about the ride. He became totally silent. He just stood there, flabbergasted with his mouth wide open, not sure of what to make of the quick exchange of affection between two guys that he'd just witnessed. His parents saw the whole thing too, and quickly activated the "smoke screen" - the mother turned the boy away from the direction he was starting in, pointed randomly at a bunch of trees, and said something lame like "Look at the birds there! Aren't they cute?" (I looked over. There weren't any birds.)

I just stood there, giggling to myself uncontrollably. It was hilarious!

At around 5pm, we decided to take a little break, so we went over to the Grand Californian Hotel (which is in Disney's California Adventure) to have a cocktail. When we went to the hotel bar, the ENTIRE room was filled with people in red shirts. Yep... the gay people do love to drink alright! It was a fun day... but boy, was it tiring. We got home at 1:30am. Took a quick shower, crashed into bed, and passed out in under 10 seconds flat.

I can't wait to go again next year!

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009