Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

And I did it my way

Sunday, Mar. 30, 2008 @ 5:38 p.m.

And now... the end is near. And so I face the final curtain. Because...

It's the last day of Spring Break. *Sob* Time really flies when you're having fun.

And speaking of fun, I kinda have a date this Thursday. At least, as far as I know, I do. I met him through mutual friends this past Thursday. He's an ex-marine and he's so cute... haha. We exchanged numbers, and he said that he'd call me some time this weekend to arrange for a time to hang out. I didn't hold my breath (I've become very jaded about these things), but sure enough, he did. So we shall see what happens.

March is as good as over, and April is here once again. It's kind of an anniversary for me. When French Fitch and I broke up over a year ago, I shut myself in. I didn't go out for months. Even on the weekends, I'd just stay home, drink myself into oblivion, and mope over the death of my relationship and how I will never find someone ever again. It wasn't until April when I finally started crawling out into the outside world again. It was my birthday that did it. Louis convinced me to do something for my birthday, and so we had a birthday dinner at Marix. But because I had estranged all my friends in order to pacify French Fitch's jealous disposition, I couldn't invite friends to my birthday dinner even if I wanted to... I had none other than Louis (whom I'm extremely grateful to have stuck by me since I met him in 2002)! And of course, leave it to fate to rub salt into open wounds: At the dinner, there was a birthday party on the patio of the restaurant. The birthday boy was celebrated, cheered, and genuinely loved by a large group of good friends (and several large pitchers of deliciously potent Margaritas).

Right then, I made a promise to myself that over the year, I would rebuild my social circle once again... that next year, I will have a birthday party/gathering of sorts, and I will have friends who will care enough to celebrate my birthday with me. And I will never ever be foolish enough to give up any of my friends for anyone again.

And so that anniversary is fast approaching. Thankfully, this time around, I do have people to invite. Granted, I'm not ultra-popular with a 200-person guest list... in fact, I think I have barely 20. But I'm grateful for the good fortune and progress that I've had to even get this far. If it's not the quantity but the quality that counts, then I wouldn't hesitate to say "Mission Accomplished".

Now I just have to come up with what I wanna do for my birthday. But I guess all things considered, that's the easy part.

But whatever I end up doing, I'd be able to say with pure conviction...

... that I did it my way.

And I wouldn't have it any way else.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009