Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Good tidings

Saturday, Dec. 29, 2007 @ 1:48 p.m.

Okay, so Christmas eve sucked for me, but Christmas day totally made up for it. I was invited to two parties, both of which were a blast.

I was awakened by a phone call from New Guy, wishing me a merry Christmas (aww!). He was back home in Maine with his family. In less than an hour after that (around 12:30pm), I was at The Brit's place. He'd cooked up a feast - turkey, ham, vegetables, pies, tarts... it was quite a pleasant surprise, 'cos I've never gathered him as a good cook. His boyfriend (New Guy's best friend) is one lucky bastard. We feasted, we drank, and we played poker and dominoes. I was quite the card shark - too bad we weren't playing for money!

At around 6 in the evening, it was time for me to go to the other party that Michael (a bartender at Trunks, my favorite watering hole) had invited me to. (Incidentally, Michael is one HOT specimen!) I wasn't sure if I was going to have a good time there, because I only knew Michael and a couple of other people (my fellow bar regulars). But I was yet again pleasantly surprised, 'cos the people were all so nice and friendly. We laughed so much. There was another feast, and I chowed down to more turkey and roast beef... man, thinking about it is making my mouth water again! Then it was time for Celebrity - what Michael described as the 'funnest' game ever. I had never played it before, but it was indeed a blast - it was sort of a cross between charades and the $10,000 pyramid. I haven't laughed so hard in quite a while!

Around 11:30pm, myself and a couple of my bar regulars left the party and headed down the street to Trunks. There I met up with The Brit and his friends again, one of whom I got into a drinking contest with. I think we did about 4 shots back to back - I was still fine (thank gawd I'd eaten so much), but my opponent was shit-faced. It was hilarious! We stayed till the bar closed, and then I stopped by The Brit's place to pick up the poker set which I'd left behind (which I'd borrowed from New Guy). While at it, I nabbed a couple of this insanely sweet and delicious pineapple-tart-type thing that The Brit had made before heading home.

So basically, I had been drinking on Christmas day from around 12:30pm to 2am. It was a blast. I'm looking forward to having as much fun (if not more) on New Year's Eve.

Romantically, 2007 had been quite a crappy year for me. It started off with French Fitch ripping my heart out, and it ended with New Guy doing pretty much the same (though not quite to the same degree as the former). I'm going to welcome 2008 with my friend Rachel (not her real name), who's having trouble getting over this girl (a case of unrequited love - seems to be a lot of that going around these days). We're going to toast to the start of 2008 without New Guy and that girl, and leave 2007 behind.

Good riddance, I say.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009