Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Tuesday night spontaneity

Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2007 @ 5:26 p.m.

I'm not too much of a spontaneous person. I like structure in my life. I like to know what I'm gonna do tomorrow, or this weekend, or tonight, so that I can plan my day/week accordingly. But I gotta admit, being structured isn't nearly as fun as being spontaneous.

Now, New Guy is very spontaneous. He's not big on planning ahead. He does fun things at the spur of the moment. This makes him a little irresponsible in that respect, but he definitely has a lot more fun.

I had a taste of that spontaneity last night, and it was a blast. It all started with us planning to have a pizza-and-"30 Rock" marathon in the evening after work. We watched 6 episodes, and switched over to 2 episodes of "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia" (which were all side-splittingly hilarious). It was about ten past eleven when we got done, but New Guy was feeling restless. He asked me if I've been to The Standard in downtown LA, and I said no. So off we went. To a bar downtown... on a Tuesday night.

That place was gorgeous. It was a roof-top open-air bar in the middle of downtown, and the view of all the buildings (offices that were wastefully draining precious electricity by leaving their lights on 24/7, really) was quite spectacular. It was very contemporary and modern, and there was quite a crowd there for a Tuesday night. At around 1am, he brought me to another bar, but it turned out that they'd changed management and were now closed during the weekdays. We went to another bar (Bar 107), a less "flashy" bar/club. There was a photo booth there, and we took goofy pictures (including one of us smooching - awww). We stayed there till last call (1:45am), and he decided to take me to the Mann's Chinese Theater in Hollywood, where he'd discovered a way to climb up to the roof. Now, THAT'S a view of Hollywood that you don't see everyday!

We went back to his place after that, where we drank and played Monopoly till 5am. We passed out soon after the game ended (I lost... AGAIN). Woke up at 9am and made a mad rush to our respective jobs.

I was sleepy all day, but it was definitely worth it - I had such a great time. Of course, it's not something that I would do on a regular basis, but this spontaneity really does spice things up quite a bit.

While we were at Bar 107 last night, we got a flyer for a show tonight by a band that makes electronic music by kiddy musical toys (like toy pianos and xylophones and such). It was very intriguing, and we made plans to catch it tonight. There's a possibility that New Guy might pass out after he gets back from work and we won't make the show, but I hope we do. I never did fun things like this with French Fitch, not even in the beginning... and I'm really digging it.

So... I'm keeping my fingers crossed that New Guy has enough energy to catch that show tonight. Spending the evening with him is sweet, but I'm also really interested in checking out this band.

It was certainly the most fun I've had on a Tuesday that wasn't a holiday. Ever.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009