Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Schoolboy crush

Thursday, May. 03, 2007 @ 4:18 p.m.

I think I'm developing a crush on Chris. Arrrggghhhh... is it still called a schoolboy crush when you're no longer in high school?

My cynical side was wrong last night (thankfully) - he didn't flake on me and we met up at Trunks at around 11-ish. I guess he's a regular there, 'cos everyone in there seemed to know him. He introduced me to many of his friends. Too many, actually - I'm quite embarrassed to admit that I hardly remember any of their names. But anyway, we talked for quite a bit, and he's a brilliant conversationalist. He's also very energetic (no, he's not on speed), and just gives off a very good vibe in general. He's very easy on the eyes as well... not exactly the cover model of Men's Health magazine type, but just very classically handsome. Did I mention that I'm quite smitten?

Pah. I'm not sure why I'm getting all these feelings, but I can't help it. Best I can do is just be mindful about it and not let myself spiral out of control. We had a bit of a face-sucking moment towards the end of the night (VERY good kisser *blush*), and he told me "I think I like you". But he also said that he's very hard to date because he works a lot, and that it has to move very slowly. Which is fine by me, 'cos of my recent situation, and the last thing I want to do is rush into something before even knowing him as a person. For all I know, he may turn out to be an asshole (I see Mr. Cynical is still in the house).

But anyway, so I guess that also means that I'm dating again. It's surprisingly refreshing, and something that I haven't experienced since French Fitch - The Early Days. Cue on Cher's song that goes "Do you believe in life after love (after love.... after love... after love...)".

We said our goodbyes soon after the bar closed, when he had to drive a friend home. I guess we would have shared a lot more face-sucking time if he didn't have his friend waiting in the car, but it was very nice nonetheless. He works as a waiter at Eleven, a brand new gorgeous restaurant/bar that just opened a couple of months ago in the heart of West Hollywood, and he's gonna be working there for the next four nights... which means I won't get to see him much until early next week. He told me to drop by the restaurant tonight though, so I may just do that.

My only reservation is that I went out Friday through Sunday last weekend, and again last night. If I go out tonight, and do my usual Friday and Saturday night thing... that's waaayyyy too much going out! But I'm nonetheless still very tempted to go out again 'cos I really wanna see Chris. My friend Doug called me earlier on today and asked me to join him for karaoke at Motherlode tonight, so I may go hang out with him and sneak little trips to Eleven every now and then since it's just right down the street.

I'm kinda scared... but I think this will all turn out to be good for me. I can't spend the rest of my days still reeling from French Fitch's betrayal. He's clearly moved on, and it's about damn time that I did too. I'm gonna ask Louis and Doug to be my lookouts, and not allow me do anything stupid. If they see that I'm heading towards disaster with Chris, they'll knock some sense into me. I'm a lucky guy to have such caring friends who would do that for me.

Yes, I'll get by... with a little help from my friends.


PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009