Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Buh-bye

Monday, Mar. 26, 2007 @ 2:06 a.m.

I don't think I'll ever hear from Miguel again. And you know what? That's perfectly fine. I never invested much in him anyway, so I really haven't lost anything.

My problems with him? Well, for starters, he *never* answers his phone, which bugs the crap out of me. I always talk to his voicemail. And he would call me back whenever it was convenient for HIM, and I would never get to talk to him when it's convenient for ME. That's not cool.

Then there is the flakiness. We were supposed to meet up after work for a drink this Friday. He cancelled on me because he had a friend from out of town who was visiting, which I understood completely. We rescheduled for dinner Saturday evening. That's totally cool with me. But it turns out that his friend cancelled on him at the last minute. What did he do? Call me? Nope. He called his other friends and they went partying. Which there's nothing wrong with, just that it shows he's really not too anxious to see me.

Come Saturday. He cancels on me because he was hungover from drinking too much Friday night, and also because his sister asked him to babysit. Even that, I understood. But he only had to babysit at 9pm, and asked me if I wanted to get an early dinner. I agreed, we met up for a couple of hours, and it was nice. I asked him not to cancel on me tonight (Sunday), because I wanted to take him out to a nice restaurant that he wanted to try out as well, and he said "let's talk tomorrow". Fair enough. We'll talk.

Then today came (Sunday). I sent a text message to him saying "Hello", and he replied, saying that he was out drinking with friends (this was around 2pm). Putting two and two together, I sent him a message saying "So I guess we won't be meeting up tonight. How about an afternoon cocktail at The Abbey then?".

He replied "Where?"... which was stupid, 'cos I had already said where. But I obliged anyway.

"The Abbey", I texted.

"Ok!" was his reply.

I followed up with "What time?"

.... and no reply. After waiting about 2 hours, I called him, and as usual... I got his voicemail. I left a message, saying "Hey, I thought we made plans to meet at the Abbey, but you didn't say what time. So let me know".

No call back.

At 5pm, I sent him a text message: "So are we meeting today or not?? Please let me know, 'cos I don't wanna be sitting around waiting for nothing." (Verbatim)

He finally replied, but with "I'm hanging with my brother."

Umm... hello? Did I ask you who you were hanging out with?? Was that question too complicated for you to answer? Still, I refrained from revealing my frustration, and just replied with "So does that mean you're gonna be busy all day today?"

And he doesn't reply.

Fed up and tired of waiting around for something that may or may not happen, I made plans with another friend (whom I met through Miguel, actually) for dinner and drinks. He said okay, and that's exactly what we did.

So I went out, and had a pleasant evening. At 2am, my phone rings. It's Miguel.

I answer, and after exchanging the cordial "How are you"s, I told him, "You do realize that you've flaked on me three days in a row now, right?"

Seems like he didn't even realize that we made plans for today. For some reason, he thought that I was telling him I wanted to go to the Abbey to have a drink alone. Where he got that from, I'm not even gonna bother to figure out. But instead of talking to clear up this misunderstanding, he said, "You know what, you're being weird. Let's talk tomorrow or some other time", to which I replied "Fine, if that's what you want", and that was that.

If I want to date someone, I need to date someone who at least has respect for other people's time. If you wanna cancel on a plan or change your mind and want to do something else, LET THE OTHER PERSON KNOW. Then the other person can go ahead an make other plans, instead of sitting around waiting for your damn return call. Other people have lives and want to do something productive with their time too. And even if he misunderstood about our plans today, I left him a voicemail. He could have easily picked up the misunderstanding had he heard my message, called me back, and cleared it up. But apparently, returning messages is a feat that seems too complicated and difficult for him.

So yeah... I don't think I'll be hearing from him ever again. But that's fine... I wasn't looking for a relationship anyway, and even if I was, I'm certainly not gonna date someone who doesn't answer his phone and doesn't return messages until he feels like it. I'm too old for that. I don't have time for this disrespectful high-school drama shit. And if someone wants to see me, he'll make time to see me even if he's busy. Not because I demand so, but because that's what any smitten human being would do. And if you REALLY want to talk to someone, you WILL answer his calls, even if it's at 4am.

What matters is that I've made a new friend through Miguel (whom I hung out with tonight), who brought along a nice girl that I also met tonight. I've given up all my friends for French Fitch, and now it's time for me to rebuild my social circle. That's my primary objective. I will get to know as many people as I can, and I won't feel so lonely and pathetic anymore just because I'm no longer in a relationship.

I don't have time to play other peoples' childish games, nor do I want to. If you don't have at least the basic human respect for me, then I'm not going to waste my time and patience on you.

I have better things to do... and yes, that includes being alone without being disrespected. What d'ya know... turns out that there are situations when feeling lonely is actually preferred! Who would've thunk?

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009