Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Elliott Yamin, YOU ROCK!

Thursday, May. 18, 2006 @ 11:36 a.m.

Grrr. Elliott Yamin got voted off "American Idol" last night. While I'm happy that my favorite contestant made it to Top 3, I'm miffed that he didn't lose to people who clearly were better than him. I think Katherine McPhee definitely deserves to be in the finale (she was my second favorite since the top 24), it's Taylor "Spastic" Hicks that I can't stand. Sorry, coldandgray, but I just don't see his appeal. He doesn't really have an outstanding singing voice, and those body spasm that he calls "dancing" is really, as Simon Cowell puts it so aptly, "hideous". And I'm not just saying this 'cos I'm disappointed that Elliott left. I can easily think of a few other contestants who, vocally, would be better top 2 candidates than Taylor: Chris Daughtry, Paris Bennett, and Mandisa NoLastName, for instance. (And of course, ELLIOTT!)

Still, I guess the milk has been spilled, and that's just the way the cookie crumbled. I honestly hope that good things will happen for Elliott, career-wise. He doesn't have your typical cookie-cutter pin-up pop star looks, but he's looking so much better now with all that professional grooming compared to when he first auditioned for "American Idol"... he's actually quite adorable now! He seems like such a genuine, sensitive, and great guy (Even Simon Cowell gushed about his personality on Jay Leno), and I'd hate to see the adage "nice guys finish last" play out on him. And that talent... that voice of his... I still can't believe that he has never received formal training. To be a diabetic, to have a 90% hearing loss in one ear, and still be able to sing like THAT... all I can say is WOW.

It was quite a tearful farewell that he had during last night's results show, though. I felt like crying when I saw his mom Claudette shed tears of pure joy, as thousands of people from his hometown showed up with such warm and overwhelming support. She was obviously so proud and happy for her son, that you can just feel the unconditional motherly love radiating from your TV set.

It was really heart-wrenching to see Elliott cry in his exit interview too. It was so heart felt and thankful... and he obviously hasn't been tainted one bit by all the star treatment he's been getting from the show.

Anyway, the good thing is that we'll see him again next week performing during the finale. I think that Taylor will win in the end due to the ridiculous overwhelming (albeit unjustified in my opinion) support that he has, but whatever, I couldn't care less. I just really hope that Elliott will do so much better than all 3rd place finalists in "American Idol" history... maybe pull a Clay Aiken and end up doing better than the winner. He certainly has what it takes and deserves to do so.

Good Luck, Elliott!! The show has given you so much exposure and an already-established fan base. Now run with it and make us all proud to call you our American Idol!!!!

(Okay, end of dorky post.)

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009