Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Andrew Van De Kamp is my neighbor

Wednesday, May. 17, 2006 @ 7:00 p.m.

I meant to post this a while ago, but I kept forgetting... I discovered that Shawn Pyfrom, who plays Bree Van De Kamp's son Andrew on "Desperate Housewives", is my neighbor!

I guess this is the sort of coincidences that occur when you live in LA, the movie/TV capital of the world. I first saw him a few weeks ago in the elevator. At first, I couldn't put my finger on who he was... he just looked so familiar and I knew that I'd seen him on TV before somewhere. Then that following Sunday, I saw him on "Desperate Housewives", and finally realized that Andrew Van De Kamp, the most evil (gay) son in recent TV history, lives in my building!

I've shared an elevator ride with him a couple of times since then. He was pretty friendly. I didn't exactly go all "OH MY GAWD! YOU'RE ANDREW!!" - in fact, I just acted completely unimpressed - but I think he knew I recognized him when I did a double take as I stepped into the elevator. He smiled and we exchange the usual "How're you doing" pleasantries. He was all dressed up to go out I guess, and he looked much better in real life than on TV. When he got out of the elevator, he wished me a good evening, which I thought was kinda nice of him.

Today, while I was walking up to my door on my way home, I saw him again. This time, he was doing some photo shoot right near my doorstep. Since the corridors are quite narrow, I had to kind of squeeze past him, carrying 3 full bags of groceries. I noticed that he had some acne problems, but of course, I refrained from saying "You need more makeup to cover those up".

Although I must say, I was extremely tempted to. I wonder what his reaction might have been. Anyway, now I have him and Omarosa (from the first season of "The Apprentice") as neighbors. Not that the latter is anything to boast about, but it sure makes for an interesting cocktail party conversation.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009