Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Wild geese

Saturday, Mar. 04, 2006 @ 5:10 p.m.

It's been forever since I've updated. I don't really have any excuse other than laziness and just a general lack of enthusiasm.

I received an invitation to join an honor society today. Although it's some honor society I've never ever heard of, I find myself strangely thrilled. I think it's because I haven't haven't received any forms of acceptances for quite a while... and gawd knows I've received a TON of rejections - enough for two lifetimes, even. But anyway, if I join this honor society, I get another cord to embellish my graduation gown... which really appeals to me. Gotta collect 'em all!! :-)

But anyway, the invitation letter went "Congratulations! Your academic achievements place you in the top 10% of your class, and we are honored to offer you membership in the XYZ Honor Society!". Which got me to thinking... I'm graduating in the top 10% of my class, I'm graduating in one of the top 30 colleges in the United States, I'm actively involved in 3 research projects, I'm gonna graduate (hopefully) summa cum laude with triple honors, and now I'm gonna be a member of some invitiation-only honor society.

But the med schools still think that I'm a friggin' IDIOT just because I don't have a spectacular MCAT score which, by the way, is above average. What do they think, that I attained all the aforementioned achievements out of pure luck? An accumulation of YEARS of achievements... versus one friggin' eight-hour standardized test... and they think that the latter says a whole lot more about me than the former?

*Sigh*... Sometimes I really wonder if everything I strive for is even worth it. I could have slacked off for the past 4 years and graduated with a 2.0 GPA... and I'd still be exactly where I am today.

Talk about a wild goose chase.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009