Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Stupid sweater

Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005 @ 9:36 a.m.

You know you've gone off the deep end when you start getting angry and screaming at inanimate, non-living objects that seem to be defying you.

The weather has become quite cold, so I have been wearing a sweater at home. Last night, I needed to do the dishes, so I rolled up my sleeves and went ahead with the chore. My sleeves slipped down, which brought out a pet peeve of mine: Touching any part of my clothing with wet hands. But I had no choice, and it was either that or wash the dishes with soaked sleeves. And I was especially bothered by every little thing, because I was (and still am) very stressed out with the amount of work I had to do. I have a ton of application essays to write, I have two research papers, and two exams. All due this Wednesday.

Anyway, I rolled up my sleeves again and resumed doing the dishes. They fell down. I rolled them up again. They fell down. I turned them inside out so that they would wrap around my arms more tightly. They fell down.

I snapped, gave out a blood-curdling grunt, and abruptly took the sweater off as if it was on fire. I slammed it on the floor, and I screamed at it.

I screamed at my sweater.

Somebody call the men in the white coats.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009