Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Yet another week

Saturday, Nov. 12, 2005 @ 10:28 a.m.

This week has been insane. I had a long-ass midterm on Tuesday, and a research paper due on Thursday. While it may not sound like much, it certainly felt like a month had passed in that one week.

I studied till 3am on Monday night, and woke up at 8am on Tuesday for my midterm. That sleep deprivation just screwed my entire week up... because when I returned on Tuesday, I had to start working on that research paper. Stayed up late on Wednesday as well (3:30am), and woke up for my 9am class on Thursday at 7:30am. By the end of Thursday I was a complete zombie. Thank goodness yesterday was a holiday (Veteran's Day), and I slept till 12:30pm. Ahhhhhh... really needed that.

Of course, all that would have been prevented if I didn't wait till the last minute to prepare for the midterm and research paper. But I've completely given up on kicking my procrastination habit. Hard work pays off in the long run, but procrastination pays off RIGHT NOW. It's just sooooo worth it, y'know? (I'm hopeless)

Speaking of hopeless, I got my first rejection letter on Thursday. It stung like hell (how could anybody not feel hurt upon being told that they suck?), but I kept telling myself that my MCAT score sucked, and I probably would have done the same thing if I were a member of an admissions committee. That's just being realistic, not pessimistic. And rejection hurts no matter how much you've prepared yourself for it. You could tell yourself that you expected it over and over again, but nothing hits harder than the truth. Still, I need to better prepare myself, because more of those are bound to come. At this stage, I'm just hoping to get into ONE school (I applied to nearly 40). We shall see how realistic that is.

Gawd, I need a vacation. You know those Corona beer commercials, with the sandy beaches, sunny blue skies and the crystal-clear ocean? A beach chair, ice-cold beer, not a damn care in the world? How do I get me one of those??

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009