Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

I ♥ Johns Hopkins

Sunday, Nov. 06, 2005 @ 12:07 p.m.

French Fitch is coming home today!!!! I'm so excited. He's been gone for about a week and a half, and I miss him dreadfully. I gotta clean the place up quickly!

In other surprising news, I got a secondary application from Johns Hopkins School of Medicine!! Well... it's not really that surprising a piece of news, considering that they send secondaries out to everybody and anybody who applies to them. But what was surprising for me was what they sent me - a letter saying how pleased they were of my interest in Johns Hopkins Medical School, along with a full-color, 20-page prospectus about why I should consider them for my medical education. The letter they sent was a full-page, 6-paragraph blurb, instead of the typical acknowledgement letters that most other medical schools send, which in effect goes something like this:


"Thanks for your application (fee). You can now fill out our automated secondary application (which we send out to anybody and everybody, so don't feel like you're special or anything), and pay the non-refundable secondary application fee. Or not, whatever. Note that the applicants that are offered interviews usually have an MCAT score of 45 and a 4.00 GPA, so knowing where you stand can help decide if you should send us the secondary application. So if you know better, you won't make our workload even larger than it already is. Thanks and have a nice life."


Well of course it doesn't sound exactly like that, but that's how you usually feel after reading them (like a loser). But Johns Hopkins... wow, they actually make you feel like you have a chance! They state that they have no minimum MCAT and GPA scores (Gawd, bless them!!), and "place a high value on the activities, experiences, and personal qualities of applicants". I also like how they said "We are grateful to receive your application". Which really surprised me, coming from the #2 medical school in America (after Harvard)!!!! I mean... with their reputation, they certainly deserve to be snobby. What I liked the most about their brochure was this "Why should you choose Hopkins?" portion. Yeah right, as if the reason why I'm not there is a matter of my choice!!!

I probably stand only a shadow of a chance with Johns Hopkins, but I'm still gonna try anyway. Just because they made me feel worthy, and didn't come off as being elitist. I've heard that Hopkins is quite progressive, in the sense that they have even been considering to scrap the MCAT requirement for admission. About damn time a reputable school realized that standardized tests don't mean squat.

Of course, I may just be saying that 'cos I suck at standardized testing, but still... I'M NOT STUPID!!!

... right?

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009