Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

I ♥ Animals... they taste good.

Saturday, Sept. 17, 2005 @ 12:03 p.m.

Wow, it's been ages since I last updated! Guess I've just been slacking off. And enjoying it too. I'm really taking a vacation after the ordeal that was the-exam-that-shall-not-be-named.

I had an encounter today with this friend of a friend who was a devout vegetarian. Now I don't mind vegans... whatever you choose to eat (or not to eat) is totally up to you and none of my business. But this particular vegan was the preachy type, which annoyed the shit out of me. For some reason I can't remember, I mentioned during the conversation that I loved my steaks medium-rare. This vegan girl immediately got on my case for eating cows. I tried the agree-to-disagree method of dispute resolution by saying "Oh well, to each his own". But she wouldn't stop. She kept asking me why I had to eat meat. I said it was because it tasted good. She said it wasn't a good enough reason. I really didn't feel like going into a debate with her about this issue, but she kept provoking me.

So I turned the question around and asked her why she was a vegan. She went on and on about how we should all respect life and that we shouldn't think of ourselves (humans) as being the top dogs of the animal kingdom and therefore have the right to take life away from the so-called "lower life forms". Now, I've always had my own opinion about vegans who are into it just because of that very "respect life" reason, but I never expressed it to anyone before... until tonight. So I rebutted and asked her, "What about plants? The vegetables you eat counts as 'life' too!".

She came back with the very lame "plants are different, they have no feelings" argument. I said, "Well, they're life too. They grow and the reproduce and they die. If you respect life sooooo deeply as you say you do, then you shouldn't eat them as well."

She just kept saying, "I dunno, but you're wrong." over and over again in the absence of a valid retort, shaking her head as if I were some pedophilic, axe-murdering, psychopathic serial rapist. I added, "Have you ever realized that we need to eat life in order to live? Can you name ONE thing you eat that didn't use to be alive?"

She didn't answer, and kept shaking her head and saying "I dunno, but you're just wrong". And just at that very moment, she slapped her arm because a mosquito had attempted to attack her. Needless to say, that mosquito became flatter than a pancake. It was the perfectly opportune time for me to make a fake gasping expression and say, "OH NO! YOU JUST TOOK ANOTHER LIFE!! HOW COULD YOU?!?!"

I left and went to mingle with another group, and never talked to her again for the rest of the evening. And I probably won't be talking to her EVER again. Good riddance.

Activism is healthy to a certain degree, but I just can't stand people who are sooo passionate about a cause when they don't even know the gist of what they're taking a stand against. Even worse than these clueless dumb asses are those that attempt to preach to you and take personal offense when you don't see things the same way as they do. I really didn't want to pursue the matter, but she just kept pushing it and provoking me that I had no choice.

Stupid plant-murdering freak!

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009