Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Idiot von Schei�er

Sunday, Apr. 10, 2005 @ 12:02 p.m.

I promised to write about Idiot von Schei�er a few days ago, so here it is. He was my ex before I met the love of my life, French Fitch. Anyway, Idiot von Schei�er wasn't anywhere as gorgeous as French Fitch. In fact, he was just pretty average. He was a very tall blonde guy (I think he was 6' 4"), and he seemed like a really sweet person when I first met him in my previous college. In the beginning, he was more into me than I was into him, but he's the kind that later grows on you (as cancerous tumors do... as I found out over the next 8 months of my life that I'm never gonna get back).

He had a nasty habit of grabbing other guys' asses when we were out in West Hollywood. Even if it's right before my very eyes. Yes, I know... I don't know how in the world I could have tolerated that, but I did at that time. What can I say, when you're into someone, you just don't see the forest for the trees. When we went to clubs, he would ogle at guys who were dancing on platforms and he'd grab their asses. And he would look at me and say "Come on! It doesn't mean anything! I'm still going home with you!". I told him that I didn't appreciate it numerous times, but he just kept doing it anyway. What am I, chopped liver? But stupid me just kept letting him off the hook. I was delusional.

Then there was his stupid disappearing acts. He would disappear for days at a time. He wouldn't answer my calls, and he wouldn't return them either. And when he re-emerged days later, he would act as if nothing had happened. That annoyed the shit out of me. The worst blow came during my birthday two years ago.

We had planned a little get-together with Louis, a dinner at a nice restaurant the day before my birthday. He even made the reservations for me, so he knew the plan. But he disappears again a few days before the dinner. On the evening itself, I was quite fed up because I was already getting dressed, but I haven't heard from him in days. I decided to call him one last time before I left, and surprisingly, he picked up. As pissed as I was, I still asked him nicely, "Are you on your way?". He asked me, "For what?". I answered, "For my birthday dinner with Louis!", to which he had the nerve to ask, "Oh, that's today?" I WAS FURIOUS. But I still kept my cool, and responded, "So are you coming or what?". And his response, I don't think I will ever forget: "No, I don't feel like it."

Isn't that outrageous? He was my boyfriend! And it was my birthday! "I don't feel like it"?!? As if it wasn't enough that I tolerated his disappearing acts without saying a word, but that was such a huge slap to my face, ON MY BIRTHDAY. So I just went to dinner with Louis, and bitched about him the entire time. He called me the next day (the day of my birthday) and apologized, but it really didn't register much with me even though I accepted. We went out for drinks that night with Louis again, and I expected at least a little something from my boyfriend on my birthday. I knew he worked minimum wage, and I did not expect a hundred-dollar-gift. I expected just words on a card, which means the WORLD to me. No expensive gifts, just WORDS. I really don't think that's too much to ask. And what did he get me? NOTHING. He didn't even bother to buy a cheap drug store card, he didn't care enough to even write the two basic words, "Happy Birthday". I doubt that he was broke to the degree of not being able to afford a 2-dollar-card, but even if he was, he could have printed one on his computer. That is, IF HE CARED.

The final straw was the textbook. At that time, he was taking this class that required a paper based on a textbook, but he couldn't afford it due to his working minimum wage. But still, his grade depended heavily on that paper. I asked him what he was going to do about it, and he just said in futility, "I don't know". So I went out to buy the book for him, without his knowledge. Cost me about 80 bucks. But when I called him to come over to my place (so that I could surprise him with the book), voila! Another one of his disappearing acts. When he finally came over a few days later, I placed the book on my table in plain sight, and all my enthusiasm in surprising him had evaporated. He saw the book. And what did he say? "Wow. You shouldn't have." And he didn't even touch it. He didn't pick it up, he didn't flip it through, it just lay on my table. Annoyed, I asked, "Aren't you gonna take it? You can write your paper now." He answered, "I dropped the class. Maybe you can take it back for a refund."

I almost had an aneurism. Not only was ZERO gratitude shown, he expected me to return the book?? I went out to friggin' buy the stupid book for 80 bucks for him, and since he didn't need it anymore, he now expected ME to make it disappear too?? How about showing me one IOTA of appreciation by at least taking the book? I didn't give a flying shit what he did with it, he could have stuffed it up his ass for I all cared, but the LEAST he could have done was to take the friggin' book and said 'thank you'. But the book continued to lie there for weeks. Everytime he came over, he pretended not to see it. By that time, a refund was out of the question. I was only able to sell it for 20 bucks eventually. I paid 60 bucks to get insulted beyond belief.

A few days later, he pulled another disappearing act, and my frustration FINALLY showed me what a fool I was to have been tolerating this idiot for so long. My disillusionment came quite quickly, almost overnight. My anger snapped me out of this twilight zone, and I finally decided that I did not want to see this guy anymore. It was my turn to pull a disappearing act. He called me, and I neither answered, nor returned his messages. There was one final time when I did answer his call, and I let everything out. Everything that I'd kept in me, I finally blew it all up in his face... stuff about the book, how he offended me on my birthday, everything. I told him what a pathetic loser he was, and I did not want anything to do with him anymore. He kept saying he didn't know what I was talking about and asked why I was so angry at him. Isn't that a joke!?!? But I didn't bother arguing anymore, said "Have a nice life", and hung up.

For a few weeks after that, George Michael's Freedom '90 was my theme song. I still haven't figured out why I wasted 8 months of my life with this loser.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009