Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Wednesday

Sunday, Feb. 13, 2005 @ 12:39 p.m.

Remember that 15-page paper I had to write last Tuesday? Well, I did that. It was a minimum of 15 pages, but I managed to pull it off to a respectable (and unexpected) 19 pages. Not too shabby at all. But that was the only good thing that happened for the next 12 hours that followed, unfortunately.

So I was working on that paper till about 3 in the friggin' morning. I had to get up 6 hours later to go to my first class. Did I wake up in time? Of course not. 6 hours of sleep is little more than a cat nap for my lazy ass. My alarm went off, I pushed the god-sent "snooze" button, and went back to sleep. It wasn't until French Fitch kicked me out of bed (literally) that I realized I had over-extended my snoozing privilege. And of course, I was running late.

I quickly washed up, got dressed, made sure the 19-page paper was in my bag, and flew down to the parking garage. But elevator was sloooowwww. Of course it was. The elevator is always slow when you're in a rush, it's the cosmic order of all things crappy. So once the elevator opened its doors on the garage elevator, I ran to my car... only to realize I'd left my car keys upstairs.

ARGH. Ran back to the elevator. It was slooowww, because I was still in a rush, see? Stopped at every single floor. Picked up idiots who were holding the elevator while their girlfriends/wives were rushing out the door. Picked up people who were moving in, taking their own bloody time in loading their stupid boxes. But finally, I reached my floor. Ran to pick up my keys, and flew back downstairs. Elevator was... well, you know the drill.

Got down to the garage, jumped into my car, and zoomed off to school. My first class was starting in 15 minutes, and I live 10 miles away. Note that I live in LA. Traffic is as certain as death and taxes. Still, I made the most of it, zig-zagging my way through the slow pokes.

Was that the end? Nope. Hell, no. I got pulled over by a $%@?ing cop for speeding. Bloody fantastic. I eventually got to class 30 minutes late, with a speeding ticket that my insurance company's gonna love.

Yep, just one of those days. I had early classes for every subsequent day, so I remained sleep deprived for the rest of the week. But along came Saturday. Great, a chance to finally sleep in to catch up on all those Z's I lost, right?

OF COURSE NOT. The %@ing fire alarm went off in the morning. Couldn't fall back to sleep after that.

Why can't all these strings of unfortunate events happen only in the movies like they're supposed to??

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009