Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Another Idiot Girl story

Wednesday, Nov. 10, 2004 @ 11:54 a.m.

Remember Idiot Girl, whom I had a brief run-in with a couple of weeks ago? Ready for another Idiot Girl story? Here goes.

So yesterday we were in the honors class again. A few of us were about 10 minutes early (Idiot Girl was too, unfortunately), so we just sat in the room and chatted casually as we waited. About a few minutes later, a lab assistant emerged from the next room, carrying a whole basket full of resin skull replicas. Apparently our professor had requested the skulls to be set up for our session, and they needed to be placed on the table, in order of evolutionary progression. Some belonged to neanderthals and apes, and were pretty easily distinguishable... but a couple of them looked largely similar, and the lab assistant was a bit baffled about which came after which.

So at one point, the lab assistant was standing there in front of us, holding the skulls up against the light, examining them closely. At such a sight, I couldn't resist blabbing out "Alas, poor Yorick! I knew him!"

The lab assistant burst out in laughter, as did a few other people who were familiar from that line from Shakespeare's "Hamlet". But I noticed, quite to my pleasant surprise, that Idiot Girl was laughing as well. I thought to myself... surely someone who appreciates Shakespeare didn't deserve the "air head" label that I'd imposed on her after our last confrontation. Perhaps I had misjudged her intellect after all?

But anyway, the laughter soon died down, as the lab assistant finally figured out the order of the skulls, placed them appropriately, and left the room. The professor came in, and the class went on as usual.

Fast forward to the end of the session. As we were packing up, Idiot Girl came up to me and asked, "So, who's Yorick?"

After getting over two seconds of dumbfounded silence, I replied (with a straight face), "Oh, just some guy I know." She giggled and left the room. Another girl sitting next to me witnessed the whole thing. We turned to each other with the classic "Oh my God!" look on our faces and just exploded with hysterical laughter.

So yeah, the "air head" label definitely stays. Of course, I don't expect everyone to be familiar with Shakespearan quotes, but the way she laughed the loudest as if she did, only to later REVEAL that she didn't know what she was laughing about is just... priceless. It's people like Idiot Girl that makes life so much more interesting, isn't it?

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009